Spirit In The Sky by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago


I hope you guys are about to have a delightful week end.

This is a song request from @dandays, it's a song called "Spirit In The Sky" by Norman Greenbaum, it was requested 4 months ago, and it's a rerun.

I went for an acoustic/Soul arrangement, as sound of the guitar with the Fuzz Box is so legendary, that I couldn't even try to compete with a simple distortion. The tempo is 130 bpm, and the main of the work as usual was on the backing vocals. Instruments: Acoustic Guitar and Vocals, effects Virtual Instruments: Pick Bass, New York Hop Drums, 70's Electric Piano

I actually borrowed the bridge from a version "Spirit In The Sky" by Dorothy Morrison, she is a gospel singer that got famous with the song "Oh Happy Day" by the Edwin Hawkins singers.
I changed the last verse to " I have been a sinner and I sinned", instead of "Never been a sinner I never sinned"

I leave you with the full lyrics!

Cheers!

@edprivat

Spirit In The Sky

When I die and they lay me to rest Gonna go to the place that's the best When I lay me down to die Goin' up to the spirit in the sky Goin' up to the spirit in the sky That's where I'm gonna go when I die When I die and they lay me to rest Gonna go to the place that's the best
Prepare yourself you know it's a must Gotta have a friend in Jesus So you know that when you die He's gonna recommend you To the spirit in the sky Gonna recommend you To the spirit in the sky That's where you're gonna go when you die When you die and they lay you to rest You're gonna go to the place that's the best
Never been a sinner I never sinned I got a friend in Jesus So you know that when I die He's gonna set me up with The spirit in the sky Oh set me up with the spirit in the sky That's where I'm gonna go when I die When I die and they lay me to rest I'm gonna go to the place that's the best Go to the place that's the best



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Great choice @dandays!! And way to go @edprivat; as usual, I love your take on it :)

I changed the last verse to " I have been a sinner and I sinned", instead of "Never been a sinner I never sinned"

Way to keep it real buddy :)

:) thanks @lynncoyle1, yeah @dandays got this right !!!

I think it’s safe to say it’s a hit my friend. Congrats!

Must.access.p/c. -noted.

Thanks brother, it's a hit indeed!!!

Hey I found another one just now. Man shame on me for being so late to the realization party! It’s this white skin of mine homie, I was born this way.. bare with me! If you get a minute, trying searching “check heart rate with fingers.” Ya.. fascinating.

I enjoyed your version of the song, had a nice reggie kind of sound to me.

Hey @bashadow thanks so much :) how is everyone at the IFC going?

I got knocked out in the second round of finals, down to the final four now, all ladies, two more rounds to go, getting tough on the judges, so my guess at least one month to go. Then I would imagine a short break, and then Season two. Took a bit longer than @apolymask, and well all of us, thought because of ties and things. It has been a very enjoyable challenge. Two rounds left then the first winner.

"I got knocked out in the second round of finals" sorry to hear , but this is the name of the game as they say !!
I felt that the activities slowed down a little lately, i was just mentioning to someone else in a post.
Good luck to the finalists !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77