The Middle East - The Darkest Side (cover by Ed Privat)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


SONG REQUEST!!!

Hello everyone, this is a song request from the talented artist @artzanolino Giovani Zanolino , you should really go check his artwork if you enjoy Digital mixed media !!!

He requested an amazing song from The Middle East, it's a song called "The Darkest Side" congratulation on winning 0.5SBD!!! I have to admit that it is just one of the most beautiful song I had the chance to listen to and work on.

LISTEN TO THE MIDDLE EAST - THE DARKEST SIDE(COVER BY ED PRIVAT) ON DSOUND

My version is a mere reflection of the original that you should go check it out pronto !
I did my best to render it properly, I even went to buy some brand new Elixir coated strings., to get that clear sound for the arpeggios with the acoustic.
The Lyrics are so touching, yesterday it overwhelmed me a little ...

LISTEN TO THE MIDDLE EAST - THE DARKEST SIDE(COVER BY ED PRIVAT) ON DSOUND

Guitarist and vocalist Robin Jones wrote the song and this is what she had to say about the lyrics:
*The metaphor love, is the air in your mother's lungs is used in the opening line of the song as it is telling a story.

It gives the opening image of a mother who is dependent on love and thrives on this love to get through day by day. It is the only thing getting her through the hard life she has found herself trapped in. I wrote this song out my own life experiences and so the lyrics have a more personal depth to them. The metaphor is linked to the line 'plastic bags and the panadol was out'.
The lyrics are written about my mother who would have committed suicide if it weren't for the love she had felt for my siblings and I. My mother also knew the emotional damage a suicidal parent could cause as her father had when she was only 9. She lived out of love and guilt and this is what the song is about. *

LISTEN TO THE MIDDLE EAST - THE DARKEST SIDE(COVER BY ED PRIVAT) ON DSOUND

Here I leave you all with the lyrics !
@edprivat

[Verse 1: Jordan Ireland]
Love
It’s the air in your mother’s lungs
When her fathers tore her fences down
Plastic bags and the panadol was out
[Verse 2: Jordan Ireland]
Love
Was a sold Gibson 335
And your father’s dream died that night
Just to keep that electricity on

LISTEN TO THE MIDDLE EAST - THE DARKEST SIDE(COVER BY ED PRIVAT) ON DSOUND

[Chorus: Jordan Ireland]
And it’s the darkest side of my heart that dies when you come to me
And it’s the golden ticket I win when you kill my enemies
I hear the farthest cry and the softest sigh when I’m empty
But if you leave me I’ll hide in a game like SimCity
Oh when I die I’m alive
And when I lose I find
My identity
[Verse 3: Bree Tranter]
Son
If I died on my bedroom floor
Would you cry on your bedroom floor?
And tattoo my name underneath your arm

LISTEN TO THE MIDDLE EAST - THE DARKEST SIDE(COVER BY ED PRIVAT) ON DSOUND

[Verse 4: Bree Tranter]
Love
That was alive in the olden days
Been put to death in this golden age
By our colour TV
[Chorus 2: Jordan Ireland]
And it’s the darkest side of my heart that dies when you come to me
And it’s the golden ticket I win when you kill my enemies
I hear the farthest cry and the softest sigh when I’m empty
But if you leave me I’ll get me gone and drown face down muddy in the water
Oh when I die…
When I die…
Die I’m alive
When I lose I find
My identity

LISTEN TO THE MIDDLE EAST - THE DARKEST SIDE(COVER BY ED PRIVAT) ON DSOUND

[Verse 5: Rohin Jones]
Love
Was those dark clouds on the Friday
It was a holy shaking earthquake
And you were stuck up the tree
[Chorus 3: Jordan Ireland, Rohin Jones, and Bree Tranter]
And it’s the darkest side of my heart that dies when you come to me
Oh it’s the golden ticket I win when you kill my enemies
I hear the farthest cry and the softest sigh when I’m empty
But if you leave me I’d hello goodbye and I don’t shine at night look I’m dead man
Oh when I die…
When I die…
When I die…
When I die I’m alive
When I lose I find
My identity


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Ed, this brings tears to my eye... Such a strong, beautiful, emotional and touching song. Wonderful rendition, especially practicing it for just one day... I hope you add it to your repetoire and master it, it's a wonderful song for you. One Love brother

I will probably have to work on it another month to add it to the repertoire, but yeah definitely !I am gonna be honest the guitar got me sweating for hours , my hands hurt today haha

Beautiful guitar melody. Didn't know this song. Your voice is similair to original

Oh wow thanks ! I tried to keep it very close to the original as I think it's perfect already!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29