Sittin' On The Dock of the Bay by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


FLASHBACK

This was again one of the first song request, I decided to rework on the instruments on my new Cubase 9 that I bought with steem money, and record the vocals again, because the first version I did 2 months ago , I felt that I was clowning Ottis Redding, so I decided to go for something softer, I hope that you enjoy!

This is what I wrote few months ago when i released the song:

LISTEN TO SITTIN ON THE DOCK OF THE BAY


Every song is special to somebody

So when @inmusicalterms asked me to chose between "Trustworthy Rock" from Will and the People or "Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay" by Otis Reddin for today's song request, my mind was already made.

Ottis Reddin wrote his song while sitting on a rented houseboat in Sausalito, California, at least that's what the wikipedia says. I don't know how accurate that is, I always imagined him writing his song from his favorite spot,from his favorite chair on a dock.

LISTEN TO SITTIN ON THE DOCK OF THE BAY

The first time I touched a guitar, was 20 years ago. The first succession of notes I played was on the low E string, was "Come As You Are" by Nirvana.I couldn't sing it at the same time.

The first time i played an open G major chord and sang at the same time, the first chords I've ever strummed on a guitar with the intent of singing a song was "Sittin On The Dock Of The Bay" At the time the succession of the bar chords was such a challenge, moving from the B7 then C back to B7 and then semi tone by semi tone down to A.

LISTEN TO SITTIN ON THE DOCK OF THE BAY

I only started playing the song to live concerts once i reached my 21th birthday, my voiced reached its baritone texture and Otis Reddin' repertoire is perfect for my range, and I could finally play and sing his song at the same time :). I busked my heart off with this song at the London Eye for a whole year, I managed to feed myself with this song, and improve my terrible french accent that was killing the soul vibe after 2 words.

Washing the chips rolling
It took me 10 years to learn how to pronounce correctly every words of this song. "Washing the chips rolling" eventually became "watching the ships rolling" and I eventually became Ed Privat, each time more confident in my interpretation of "Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay"

It's probably one of the song I've played the most in my life, this and "Redemption Song". Not only because it's a crowd-pleaser, but because this song reaches me, and inhabit me.

Something funny about the whistling part, it was supposed to be a rap on the ad lib, but Ottis Reddin couldn't remember the lyrics at the time, so started whistling. The most amazing mistakes create the most amazing piece of arts sometimes.

LISTEN TO SITTIN ON THE DOCK OF THE BAY

There is a whole mythology around this song, that Otis always considered unfinished. Prior to his death he recorded a second version, that became the first posthumous single to top the charts in the US.

Otis didn't like the pop feeling that the song had, he wanted something more gospel oriented originally,

So i scratched my head and try to come up with a version that I hope Otis would have enjoyed.

The inspiration for the arrangement is "You Can't Hurry Love" by The Supremes (or Phil Collins)

What mattered to me is to have that bass driving the song forward, making the drums almost seamless.

LISTEN TO SITTIN ON THE DOCK OF THE BAY

Up until 5pm today, I didn't know if the song would be ready, most of the backing vocals were not recorded yet, I eventually managed to squeeze all the vocal parts in one session but it was very tight.

I would have loved to add extra guitar leaks, and arpeggios like in the original, but the time is up! The Tempo is 95 bpm , and here is the list of the instruments used:

Virtual instruments: Hybdrid CD drums, Halion one Finger Bass, Fender Rhodes Mk, virtual brass section Real instruments: vocal and guitar

Thanks again to @inmusicalterms for the challenge!!!!


Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and get rewarded 0.5SBD if your song is chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you , and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :) Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

It's Brilliant what you do Ed , Great Songs you pick too , and play them in your own style. Love it !!!

Thanks! I really love the original, so It was difficult to think of a different arrangement. The inspiration is You can't hurry love by the supremes!

Top Interpretation, you are one of a kind (in a good way though) Brilliant vibe and great energy.

Thank you dear friend !

Hello @edprivat and guests of this blog! Please read my massage only if you have an opportunity to help me out.

Last month my mother was diagnosed with lung cancer and now we are doing all in order to gather the funds needed for treatment and surgical operation. Unfortunately a major part of my cryptocurrecy stuck on HitBTC exchange and I don’t know when I will be able to withdraw them. I want to ask you to financially help me; even $20 will help my family a lot! Sorry for begging, but sadly I have no choice at the moment.

Please donate me with Steem, SBD, of Ethereum. ETH address:

0xeb2eaef6c5be069751185f325939fcdcc47d6f2f

Hi @fables, I am sorry for what happened to your mother, cancer is a nasty thing. My mum had two cancers in a row, breast at first, with heavy chimo, then a throat cancer.
She is still alive because my mum is a fucking gangster. I haven't seen her for 5 years, she hasn't met my children yet.

Make a video , to confirm your identity and for the love of god stop spamming people, it make you look like it's all a scammer !

Nice photos. they deserve an award. It is very nice. great work

Nicely done, I love that song one of my favorites.

Thank you very much @gails-word-syrup !

Sounds amazing, Ed. Also the photo looks great! :)

Thanks for the compliment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66568.01
ETH 3070.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68