"Music For The Modern Airport" - from Original Modular Synth Ambient LP "slowfork"

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


The importance of Brian Eno's Ambient 1: Music For Airports cannot be understated. Originally conceived as, quite literally, a series of tape loops to be played concurrently in an airport environment to set a more soothing mood for travelers, it shed rarified mainstream attention on the emerging genre of ambient electronic music that till that point largely existed under the radar. Today I'm sharing a piece I have been working on that more adequately encapsulates today's modern airport, while paying homage to one of my favorite pieces of music of all time. In place of Eno's layers of tape loops, I am once again relying on the Make Noise Morphagene for piano stretching and layering, and using the wavetable based Synthesis Technology Cloud Terrarium (with audio rate modulation from Just Friends) to create the noisy chordal swells.

IMG_2510.JPG


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Great stuff! I love Eno's work so it's cool to me how you used this to create an experimental track. Reminds me Accelera Deck.

I feel like I do this for every post (like, talking about how influential things were for me), but much both Music For Airports and Here Come The Warm Jets are some of my most important records in my life. Not only is Music For Airports an amazing record, but it entroduced a methodology behind a concept that I think is the primary thing that sets great Ambient music apart. Great refference. I can't access D-Sound at work, but I'll check this out when I get home. Kind of on a Ambient kick now that I'm doing college stuff again.

One time I listened Music for airport in an actual airport and that was perfect... Really like this and at the end the airport get zapp by a giant laser.

I love music nice post @drumoperator

Nice man I like music

Hey! Keep it up - found this really valuable. Will resteem this post! Compliments

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81