"Deepfocus" ft Mutable Instruments Plaits- from DRUMOPERATOR Original Ambient Synth LP "slowfork"

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)


Believe it or not, everything you are about to hear in this slowburning ambient piece, "Deepfocus" is generated by multiple passes of the same four Eurorack modules: Mutable Instruments Plaits + Cloud and the Mannequins Just Friends + Mangrove. Four modules. Sometimes when diving into a new module (I only received the Plaits two days ago) it can be extremely beneficial to not throw the entire rack of gear at it (which I absolutely and unabashedly did on my live stream two night ago!) A more nuanced approach begins to reveal the depth of timbre in this beastly oscillator. Both the main chordal drone (facilitated not by direct melodic control but instead by the brilliant Just Friends multiple envelope generator), "dust" particle noise (which I'm hitting with FM modulation from the Mangrove to great, magical vacuum cleaner in the sky wonderfulness) and the big single bottom note tying the room together all originate from Plaits, my new favorite thing I own, synth or otherwise.

plaits4_1200x1200.jpg

Be sure to check out the ridiculously sweet FM bell sounds ala Cliff Martinez's brilliant soundtrack for the movie Drive. Is this where my destiny lies? Scoring some sort of breakout Steem-funded movie? I don't know if anything would make me happier. On that note, I'm going to start making these pieces available for download. I've had a few people ask me, and should anybody ever want to use any of my solo material for their livestream or as background for their own Steem content, give me a shoutout and by all means spread the word. Not trying to be precious about these tracks!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Is it possible to creaty any sound in this modular thing ? :D

Really nice textures here. I like hearing tracks from a small system, or select few choice of modules, its easy to want to go down the rabbit hole and want more and more modules, but its a nice reassurance to hear something like this and know you dont need a massive system to make unique sounds.

I’ve done the three module challenge for instagram a bunch of times and never once had it come out boring. You just end up drawing on more (or a more cohesive selection) of the same modulations which sorta subconsciously tied the room together.

nice mood and textures..so much detail generated by only a few modules!

Totally! Small palette, big sound.

Smooth... and so chill. Flawless, good job bro!

Thank you my man!

unbelievably good sound! I am glad that more and more musicians are coming to Steemit to get to know each other. My follow you have :-) greetings Bushradio

Nice man, I like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85