freestyle session, mix 1, studio ambience-A funny studio session

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



# hello world!

Hello world!

So I was working on steemit, when I got a call from a friend asking to make an instrumental so he could freestyle on. Naturally I declined, since it wasnt something that he would be paying for. But like they say, being persistent can pay off at certain times, and since I wasnt too busy, decided to make a short instrumental for him.

Later in the day, he came around to record a short somewhat love song since today was valentine.

The main purpose of the recording wasnt to release the track, but to rather test his ability to come up with lyrics on the fly and just do something on this valentine day.

The song youll be listening to is the result. Granted, as you can see from the heading, it is a song without any proper mixing yet, you can clearly hear the room ambience and reverb that was pre set before he took a take :D.
Screenshot (19).png

THIS IS NOT FULLY MIXED YET!!

I tried to make it as good as possible, and towards the end, where the chorus is, it actually gels well together, was just too busy(lazy more likely) to do an automation in the beginning to reduce or kill the over ambience there.

Intruments used

  • The drums were gotten from a dancehall pack, as a result, you can clearly hear the crunchy, snappy sounds that those sort of drums make.
  • The main piano is gotten from ''alicia keys'' kontakt library from native instruments, I played all the chords and arps in the song, no preset.
  • The sax comes from xpand!2 by AiR technology
  • The epic ominous vox 'ohh' and 'eeh' comes from tweaing settings in sample tank2 by IK multimedia, xpand!2 by Air technology.
  • The bassline is a combi from xpand!2
  • If you listen close enough, there is a water dripping sound that flows all the way through the song, giving it direction sort of, that was tap water recorded from my kitchen.
  • There are agogo, bongos and congas giving a sub rhythm underneath it all, these are gotten from ''latin drums'' preset on ableton live 9.

► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

I love the beats. Sounds contemporary with a mix of Africa. Kudos @destinysaid

I second you on that dear. Most of the time, free things are not usually worth it, but in your case, it was different.

I never knew you were into songs, but you did justice to that, and I also love the fact that you analyzed all the instruments you used so that aspiring musicians can take note of it. Nice one.

It's perfect sir .. more grace

Lol, its not, not yet, once im back in delta, ill patch it up again.

Lol..abeg you try o

Thanks for sharing good poster

Cool tune bros @destinysaid a little autotune ontop am for make am burst head!

Really fancied the ending part of the beat...
And Yess!! Am looking forward to meeting with you at the Abuja steemit meetup coming up on Saturday, it's gon be a life experience sire @dee-y over and out.

Saturday would indeed be a wonderful day

Keep it bro, I can feel the passion and keen interest you have in music

Thanks a bunch, im going to keep working on this.

nice one bro....tight beats

very beautiful music my friend and very nice time on heard @destinysaid

Like u said on my post

This is a proof
I love the beat.... Wish I could work with you

Any how u want it I would find my way to your work station

Haha, oga boss, shey na lag you dey?

Yes oo

Anyhow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43