You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keys To Consistency & Artistic Growth (podcast)

in #dsound6 years ago

Ok, I finally (finally!) have some extra free time, so here is that promised comment, @d-pend:

I enjoyed listening to your thoughts about this.

First, it's great to hear you doing a podcast. Back a year or two after college, long before iTunes picked them up and they exploded, back when Adam Curry had only just started his show and named them "podcasts", I did a podcast with a buddy of mine called "Moviegeeks". It was fun. I did radio in college so the format was not entirely unnatural to me, and I enjoyed the extra space to ramble on a bit and the back and forth of having a co-host.

Anyway, that is to say I love the format of podcasts/radio and so it was great to see you doing it.

Your goal of one poem a day is a great goal, as I think I mentioned to you way back in one of my first comments to you, and it is fantastic that you have been able to keep to that goal so far.

I totally agree with you about practice. Malcolm Gladwell was a bit simplistic when he said 10,000 hours to master anything, but I do think the idea is sound: basically practice makes perfect, to use the timeless proverb. Also challenge is important for the reason you mention, that if it is too easy we tend to quit. But it can't be too challenging, cause that leads to burnout too. We have to be careful in managing the challenge level - don't dive in too deep, and so on.

Poetry to me is absolutely journaling, so I am with you again, on your next point. I tend to weave my haiku in with my prose in my personal journal (technically called "haibun" in Japanese) because I think they go so well together.

Re goals: I think you hit the nail on the head. Short-term goals should be very specific. Actionable things, in GTD terms. Longer term goals can and should be more lofty. In part that is practical, because it is so far out that things can change and our goals should be able to adapt.

Hmm... I guess I shouldn't go point by point or this comment will be huge, but I do agree with everything else you said. Esp consistency (every day), focus, and discovering your voice. That last is so hard, but it does come when we do the other two.

Anyway, again, Daniel, I really enjoyed your thoughts. Sorry it took so long to get back to you, but... well, kids are hell on using free time for personal things. haha. (I'm not complainant - I adore my kdis - but I always feel an explanation of having no time is in order; perhaps that is only because before I had kids I never understood how my friends with kids never had any time, so I am talking to my past self)

If you ever want a guest, I'd be happy to appear with you if we could manage to schedule it.


BTW @violetmed mentioned that you now have a discord channel where you are teaching and doing poetry readings and that you mentioned me there and my thoughts on haiku. Thank you for the mention. I'd love to join that channel and check out when you are doing there. I suppose the link is in one of the many posts I need to catch up on. haha I'll go thru them and find it. I need to catch up on this 100 day challenge of yours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52