Nothing's In My Way - Original Song by Darren Claxton

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)

Click the Pic to Play the Song




Nothing's In My Way' is a song about living with anxiety and7 the daily obstacles and hurdles it throws at us. I'm pretty sure that many people can relate to that, right? but you know what? It doesn't rule my life anymore!, I do!

Please feel free to comment, as I always like to know how people manage their own anxieties and mental health issues, and how they have cope and live with these debilitating conditions throughout their daily lives. Music is such a massive part of me and is an invaluable therapy that I embrace every day.


I wrote and recorded this song last year and re-visited it again just recently. I mixed it down on my trusty old friend - Zoom MRS 1608 and It was all done in 1 take. The drums were recorded with a couple of SM57's and 2 overhead condensers for that real raw live sound. We've (My Zoom and me) been through a lot over the past 10 years: 4 houses, 3 ex girlfriends, 2 dogs, 2 cats and hours of fun!


Lyrics

Woke up late this morning
thinking same shit different day
what could possibly go wrong
nothing stands in my way,
in my way
nothing's in my way

Took my happy tablet which helps me to find a way
helps with my anxiety then everything's OK
it's OK
everything's OK

Do I even care if you don't know the strength of your own mind
people stop and stare at you and talk together time to time
Do I even care if you don't know the strength of your own mind
people stop and stare at you and talk together time to time

When the feelings rearrange I feel like running free
who will come and find me there it's necessarily
all of me, it is always me

Woke up late this morning
thinking same shit different day
what could possibly go wrong
nothing stands in my way,
in my way
nothing's in my way

Do I even care if you don't know the strength of your own mind
people stop and stare at you and talk together time to time
Do I even care if you don't know the strength of your own mind
people stop and stare at you and talk together time to time


Thanks for listening and supporting me and my music!
DC


All Music, Lyrics and Photography
Copyright (c) 2018 Darren Claxton



► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

great song my friend ^_^

Thanks for stopping by for a listen!

pleasure :P

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Heya @darrenclaxton! Great song mate.it's awesome to hear that you've found a strength within to enable you to take control. I know all too well how hard it is to live with anxiety, it can be crippling at times. I'm not the best version of myself at the moment, but I'm feeding the fire one log at a time in the hope that I can get it burning brightly again soon.
I love the line "who will come and find me there it's necessarily all of me, it is always me" that's powerful. It's so important to remember that no matter how you're feeling you are still you, and you can still do everything you've always been able to do and more.

@trevorpetrie my dear friend!
Thank you so much for your kind words of support. I'm still struggling along! It's been a harsh 6 months or so since I stopped taking my Sertraline. I started back on it again last week and am going through all the usual horrid side effects, but, I'll get through it mate and shine again.
Writing these stories of mine is such a therapeutic process and somehow, detaches me from the anxieties.
I hope you get through it too and again, shine bright.
You must come on our show sometime and share a song with us!
Thanks again for your kind words of support!
Your ole' mate Darren Claxton!


Here's the show page.
Reach out to us in Discord.

https://steemit.com/msp-waves/@spotlight.artist/upcoming-special-editions-and-spotlight-on-the-artist-episode-31-8th-of-march-2019-line-up

Ah sorry to hear that mate. Writing sure is a great way to work through things though, it’s been my crutch these past 8 months or so since a mate of mine died in a cycling accident. I was really struck with an overwhelming feeling of mortality and being insignificant in the universe. Like yourself, I’m taking steps.

Thanks for the invite and link, I’ll definitely look it up and hopefully find some time to chat with you about it on Discord.

All the best mate, Trevor.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Amazing! Thank you mate!
I really need a lift up at the moment.
Thanks again!
DC 🎼

I really dig your style. I may of already said that.

Thanks for the compliment and for listening to my music!
I really appreciate it!
DC 🎼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83