The Thrill Has Gone - My Tribute To A 'True Legend Of The Blues' - BB King -

in #dsound6 years ago


There have been so many influences on my guitar playing since I started to teach myself the art of, creating feeling from peeling notes from the fret-board, to create some kind of emotive feeling for the listener and somehow draw them in like my musical heroes did.

One player that effortlessly did this was BB King. He could play just one note and make that note COUNT! I always say 'It's what you don't play that matters' leaving that air in between the notes to let them slowly immerse the listener into wanting more.
I wanted to pay tribute to this King Of The Blues and record my own rendition of one of his most loved and covered tracks 'The Thrill Is Gone' which was originally written by Roy Hawkins and Rick Darnell in 1951.
B.B. King recorded his version of "The Thrill Is Gone" in June 1969 for his album Completely Well, released that same year. BB's version is a slow 12-bar blues which he played in the key of B minor in 4/4 time. It shuffles along beautifully and encomapsses his unique style of playing that we've all come to love so much.

As you all know, I'm a songwriter and multi-instrumentalist and always upload 'Original' material on to @dsound.
This however isn't a cover or remix, it's my way of saying 'Thank You to BB King for inspiring me, and millions of others that love the blues!
A true legend!

Thanks for listening.

Darren


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

This is fantastic! You are unbelievably talented, my friend. It's pure bliss listening to this rendition. It's hard to conceive of one man doing all of these great parts, and sounding so professional! I'm glad I know ye before you are a star.

It's true! I play all of the parts separately then mix them together like 'Musical Soup' as I call it.

B.B. King was a legendary guitar player. I wish I would've had the opportunity to attend one of his concerts while he has still alive. There is a great documentary on Eric Clapton that I saw recently on Showtime called Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars that is great. It includes footage of B.B. King thanking Eric for all the doors Clapton helped open for talented blues musicians like B.B. King.

That sounds like an amazing documentary that I must check out.
Thanks for listening to my little BB tribute.
Cheers
Darren

It's great. You'll learn a lot about Clapton and his difficult upbringing, which propelled him to become the great guitarist that he is. I don't know how much longer Showtime will broadcast the movie.

I'm going to check if that documentary is on Amazon Prime, as I don't have Showtime, but Amazon has stuff from all of them. Sounds like a great choice for Sunday evening entertainment.

the music that you will be very nice to hear, I vote and resteemm

Congratulations @darrenclaxton, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2603 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4753.31. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

damn you got the blues. bb king would be proud. may i ask what gear your using? especially that guitar, it sounds great

Cheers man! I play a Tokai Love Rock MIK, through a Vox ad 100 valvetronix.
It has a sweet tone with loads of sustain.
Cheers for listening!
Darren

great friend, the level you showed executing this theme is simply great, my compliments and congratulations

just awesome!! you are really feeling this xx

I really am!
Love playing blues at this laid back tempo!
Plenty of time to peel those notes away from the fret board!
Cheers for listening to more of my tracks Mel!

wow awesome music, great tribute :)

B.B. King was a legendary guitar player. I really loved his moves.. I wish I would've had the opportunity to attend one of his concerts when he has still alive. A true Legend!!!!

Thanks for sharing @darrenclaxton

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17