An Original Song: Exclusively on Steemit

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Growing up I always heard that the word gospel meant "good news", but sometimes good news varies from person to person, and the character in this song is figuring this out.

I also heard various forms of Nietzsche's quote "That which does not kill us, makes us stronger", but I'm not too sure about this either. Some folks just get worn down to a little nub along the way.

I recorded this song just today. It's a cloudy and rainy March day here in Ohio, and if you listen closely you can hear cars driving by on wet roads outside.

Thanks again everyone, for your ongoing support, and to @DSound and @prc for this platform.

Lyrics to "Your Gospel"

I’ve got cobwebs in my window and cobwebs in my head
And I’m trying to rise above it all but I’m sinking down instead

And your gospel ain't my gospel
‘cause I still love you so
And darling don’t you leave me
Darling don’t you go

There’s a lightness to your footsteps and a laughter in your eyes
You say that things are better and that you no longer cry

And that my gospel ain't your gospel
That I still love you so
And darling don’t you leave me
Darling don’t you go

Last night I heard you breathing and I reached out for your hand
But I was only dreaming that I was still your man

And your gospel ain't my gospel
cause I still love you so
And darling don’t you leave me
Darling don’t you go

I heard what what won’t kill you will only make you strong
But the man who sat and penned these words well he is just plain wrong

And his gospel ain't my gospel
‘cause I still love you so
And darling don’t you leave me
Darling don’t you go

*Photo from Free-Photos (Pixabay)



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Dear Daniel,
I have been meaning to comment on your beautiful music for weeks now since I was first lucky enough to hear it. It's a huge failure on my part that I haven't done so, because you should hear it every day, how special your songs are.

I'm sure you hear it all the time, "You're so good, I love your music, you're so talented, it's so unique" and I could say all those things, but I just wanted to say instead that i really needed to hear this song right now, for reasons I can't explain and don't really even make sense.. and I thank you for that. Sometimes you just need a song, and I needed this song.

Much respect, sending love from a new and loyal follower,
♥serena

Thank you Serena. I know the feeling. BTW, whatever that "it factor " is, you have it, that's for sure. The very first time I heard you sing I was blown away, so much so, that I tracked you down out there and found that you were featured on All Songs Considered at one point. Pretty cool. I see you're in Tennessee, but if you're ever inspired to come up to Ohio we could work out doing a couple of shows together. I'm having a music festival on my family farm on August 11 that I'm hoping turns into a steemit gathering as well!

Hey mate! Darren Claxton here!
From one musician to another, this is just first class man as ever, love your vocal tone and especially the dynamics you create in your song writing!
I'm not sure if you knew of my new account?
Anyway bud, Keep on keeping on creating this brilliant sound!
Love it!
Cheers
Darren
@darrenclaxton

Hello Darren, Thanks for stopping by, and for the kind words! I just followed you on the new one and look forward to your posts! I'm sorry for your plight. Have you been able to get your followers to transfer over?

Cheers man! it's been a real opener and such a refreshing insight as to how many people are supporting us great musicians here! our @helpie group have been amazing as well as others to get my new account moving! I've not managed to transfer over my followers so i'm still tirelessly networking etc.
Lot's of new tracks this week and I'll be posting most days as I have a similar output level as yourself! I feel like a Claxton/Dye collab could be in order too bud if you're up for it?
Speak soon!
Rock my friend
Darren!

Yes let's do it soon! I've got my next couple of openmics planned out for now with other collaborations, but maybe down the road, or perhaps another type of collaboration? I'm up for ideas! BTW, I remember a while back on sounds of Steem you were asking how to change your name from Mr. Bloom to Darren Claxton, so maybe this is a blessing in disguise in the long run. :)

sounds good man! A studio collab would be good yeah? With modern technology we cn share WAVs etc easily.
Yesssss I remember that mate! I wanted change my name! and Voila! here I am! Reborn like a Phoenix from the ashes! Actually 'Phoenix' is one of my favourite 'Wishbone Ash' tracks too.
Cheers again brother.
darren

god thanks that i found this nice style of music!!!!


you have relly a damn good voice!
resteemed and 100 upvote for this diamond !!!
thanks my dear
made my morning! some coffee and your music and i can start! hugs to ya

I enjoy to listen this Music.

I upvote you 100%

And...
I Re-Steem your post 🤗

Great stuff, but did you forget the "not" in the Nietzsche quote?

Thanks for Sharing this great piece of Music !

Thanks @nakedverse. It looks like you're friends with @kryptoe! Welcome to steemit!

Thanks , Yeah! we have done quite a few songs together (MADEGO), he has a great Voice , and those Harmonies Wow ! great artist :) and great friend.

Wow...I like music.
Thanks for sharing dsound music

Thanks. Looks like we have something in common!

I also love music....i use music to wipe away my present sorrow, and hope for better future through music. Thanks for this insight @danieldyemusic

Thanks for sharing music
This is very nice music
I like your dsound music
...................::;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; please help me$4.50SBD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27