Then what would come of it all?

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Then what would come of it all?

original poetry & music
featuring art by Sabin Boykinov


concert_in_heaven_by_sabin_boykinov-d3gl2i0.jpg


concert_in_heaven_by_sabin_boykinov-d3gl2i0 3.jpg

..Check out..
...the audio to...
.
"Then what would come of it all?"
.
..On @dsound..
...below:...
.
► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


concert_in_heaven_by_sabin_boykinov-d3gl2i0 2.jpg


Then what would come of it all?


If I could build tones
The shape of a slanted smile
That wander through the city
At twilight until dawn:

Words form their statuettes
In grave geometry,
In pencil glyphs
They awaken such frail bodies.

Such tenuous minarets
Sliced like sashimi by intellect
Served to the old sky elementals
(A delicate appetizer.)

Course after course despite death
Inevitably approaching,
Despite choirs in wait
To eulogize the perished cavorters.

If I could sing rivers
Into towers that reach heaven,
And speak with sultry angels
Poised at thin gates:

Then what
Would come of it all?
Yeah, then what would
come of it all?


the_holy_stone_by_sabin_boykinov-d5fgnif.jpg


the_holy_stone_by_sabin_boykinov-d5fgnif 3.jpgconcept_art_by_sabin_boykinov-d3hmmly 2.jpg


Notes & process


It's been a few days since I uploaded any audible poetry, so I figured I'd experiment a bit today. I wrote the piece using a very basic idea of structuring stanzas: for four lines, short-long-long-short followed by long-short-short-long, etc. I used a beat in the background that I created a couple days ago using recordings of water sloshing in a mason jar by slowing it way down. Then I recorded the recitation of the poem. I thought it would set the feeling if I wrote some vocals for the second half of the piece, so I improvised around five parts that faded in. Then the beginning was feeling really empty so I wrote some different vocal parts for that.
.
Now came the more experimental side of things: I mixed & exported the entire piece and then reversed it. Using this reversed version I added the end of the piece to the beginning before the poem recitation came in. I recorded a couple short snippets of beatboxing for after the poem was done and added some echo and panning work. I also used the reversed version at the very end of the very beginning of the piece, and staggered it in two tracks to strobe the sound. There is some reversed speech at the end, it is from this part:

If I could sing rivers
Into towers that reach heaven,
And speak with sultry angels
Poised at thin gates:

Then what
Would come of it all?

Yeah, then what would
come of it all?

This was very fun to create. It concerns the uncertainty of the artist as to where the limits of one's scope lie. And how much can they be expanded? And then what would come of all this: our life, our joy, our creation, our pain? I hope you enjoy it! The art in this post was created by Sabin Boykinov so make sure you check out their page if you like it. I was sad I had to crop the thumbnail image, because the full image is a very beautiful wide landscape. Let me know if you have any questions or comments about this one & have an awesome day!


concept_art_by_sabin_boykinov-d3hmmly 3.jpgthe_holy_stone_by_sabin_boykinov-d5fgnif 2.jpg


concept_art_by_sabin_boykinov-d3hmmly.jpg


the_holy_stone_by_sabin_boykinov-d5fgnif 3.jpg
between_heaven_and_hell_by_sabin_boykinov-d31yxx7 2.jpg

Writing & music
By @d-pend
2/17/18
.
Art by
Sabin Boykinov

.
1 ::: "Concert in heaven"
[cropped]
2 ::: "The holy stone"
3 ::: "Concept art"
4 ::: "Between heaven and hell"

between_heaven_and_hell_by_sabin_boykinov-d31yxx7 3.jpgthe_holy_stone_by_sabin_boykinov-d5fgnif 2.jpg


between_heaven_and_hell_by_sabin_boykinov-d31yxx7.jpg


Sort:  

you have a so complicated process of creating your "kids" (poems)
I was sure it must be something like a wave of inspiration, which you catch and write down what has come into your head.
And how it has come, that's it, you don't change anything, but no....it appears you have a special scheme and many steps to change the first variant of a poem, right?

The background sounds nice with the poem. Sabin Boykinov has very impressive works! especially white and black ones!
Is he Russian? The syrname is Russian, but the name isn't.

@d-pend I liked the background music and the track is perfect, I just tell you a very famous phrase.
"Music is synonymous with freedom, to play what you want and how you want, as long as it is good and has passion, that music is the food of love"

Nice poetry good words Deep thoughts than you for sharing it I am waiting for your next post

Awesome words thanks for sharing keep it up i love this stanza
Such tenuous minarets
Sliced like sashimi by intellect
Served to the old sky elementals
(A delicate appetizer.)

wonderful mate
btw i already post my first poetry feel free to take a look and give me your opinion i would love to hear professional person opinion like you

poetry ... I am always amazed every time I read poetry, besides the interesting words in poetry always contain the meaning of the most beautiful life, the poem always depicts the color of the heart of the author

Thanks for giving us a new message about steem..We can know a lot of update news from your valuable post.It is a great article.
I will wait for your upcoming post.
Thanks ,sir.
@Resteem & follow has done.

Wow very nice music.& also nice photo.. Awesome words thanks for sharing keep it up i love this...

thanks @d-pend for share....

Wow, those are really beautiful lines to ponder about this morning. Thanks for setting my day on a good note.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67