You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 1st Time on DSound! — "The Night & Its Bewitching Might" / Original Poetry Reading

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)

Hey, that was a fast turn around! Very nice, I always prefer to hear a piece in the author's own voice. I feel I can glean more of the intention and feeling behind it. There's a very labyrinthine feel to this poem that I find inspiring.

What mic where you using? I sometimes place a rag on my Blue Snowflake USB mic to prevent pops/ puffs of air (a very rudimentary pop filter!) Other times, I just speak directly over it rather than directly in. I've had to become hyper-aware of it because there are so many airy sounds in the beatboxing I've been recording!

Glad you embarked on your @dsound maiden voyage, cheers!

P.S. We must be in sync, I posted on dsound about five minutes after you did, haha.

Sort:  

Thanks, for giving me that push, my friend :) I heartily agree about the value of voice, especially with poetry. Lending words one's breath certainly makes a poem more intimate. In Egypt, we feel the same way even about cooking, and say that the 'breath' of the cook is what really makes a meal tasty/soulful.

Taking note of all the very helpful technical tips you provide above. I did my reading using my Iphone - will try next time to cover mic and speak over it as you recommend.

Hope the folks at @dsound enjoy this poetry reading, too, and that I get better at is as I get along. (For example, was not sure if the tags I use should be for DSound or Steemit; likewise, confused where to edit, on DSound or Steemit :)

Off to check your post!

Wow! That really hits home, as an avid cook. So interesting.

The way that I do it is design the post totally, on the Steemit "Post" area, and then don't post it but then publish the sound on @dsound. Then I copy the whole post that I designed, and click "edit" on the sound I just published (now on steemit.com) I paste the post I made, and grab this part from the automatically formatted dsound post:

<a href="https://dsound.audio/#/@yourname/your-sound">► Listen on DSound</a><br> <a href="https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QiwugsdfU9sjJEbskWvzuK981kvM">► Listen from source (IPFS)</a>

(That's the part that displays the links to your sound)

I leave a space in my post for it, intentionally. After taking that part, I delete the rest of the auto-formatted post and edit the categories to things that get more clicks (i.e. instead of dsound-poetry, just change to poetry, writing, etc.) I believe the tags will remain the same on dsound and that it's a bit of a seperate entity, but I'm not entirely sure.

Anyway, that probably sounds convoluted, but that's how I do it currently!

Oh, goodness, that does sound tricky, @dpend :o Will have to consult it fairly closely, next time I post on @dsound! Thank you, for taking the time to walk me through it all!

After I wrote you, my Net dropped for around 2 hours and just back, now, so going to try to check out your post, again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50