You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Geek Podcast Episode #7 - Is "Gaming Disorder" A Mental Health Issue?

in #dsound7 years ago

Excellent podcast. I also love posting in @dsound. Happy you got some support from them and hope it continues! I'm a gamer so I found the topic really interesting. It can be very addicting at times, especially with games that are highly competitive if you have the type of personality that gets a kick out of being the best. I've quit gaming entirely for months because of doing it too much. These days, it's more in control, but at times I still neglect other aspects of my life that are more important, which bothers me.

I think it's a much more common problem than people think, especially in more wealthy societies. If gaming is in balance with everything else in life, it can provide benefits to the brain, and even social health. I suppose that applies to many areas of life! Thanks for the food for thought, @branlee87. Keep it up.

Sort:  

Hey, @d-pend! Thank you so much for the extremely thoughtful comment and for the support of the show!

I more or less agree with what you said. You had the good sense to realize and know that you were sort of losing yourself in that gaming web and spiral. But not everyone else can admit that they have a problem. And with gaming it can be tricky at times because it's generally harmless and it's a tool for simple escapism and for unwinding. The fact that the WHO wants to shed some light on the whole situation and help out is great.

Thanks so much once again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42