Our greatness (original poetry)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Our greatness

original poetry


glowing_silhouette_by_tomasmascinskas-d7euhjy.jpg


glowing_silhouette_by_tomasmascinskas-d7euhjy 5.jpg

Check out
My recitation of
"Our greatness" below:
.
► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


glowing_silhouette_by_tomasmascinskas-d7euhjy 4.jpg


Our greatness


How many have only
Peeked between trepidatious fingers
At the dewy outline of their greatness
Through the madhouse mirror of expectation,
Only to clasp again their countenance closed:
A buffer against wild yet puissant fate?

In delirium of split intent
A frenzy of soul pummeled by stone
Or, contrariwise, the rocky prism's levitation,
Unfoldment of a cosmic scrimmage vigorous
Looping through teleportation of blooms rarefied or
Reduced to star-ash compacted into gems,
Sewn on a star sash frilled with a wry fringe.

We are the results of and the fodder for that dull singe:
The slow roast of hypergenetic intelligence by
Invisible energy rays lancing through the pores of atoms,
The excitation of micromolecular structure transmuting
Base grains into precious spirit-satin.

Thin radiation projecting through a skull dome
Becomes the nascent home of subconscious yearning.
Desire swells spongelike or retracts into its shell:
A personal cavern for the contemplation of terror
& a buttress against the nothingness wherein
Hope plots subtle routes to penetrate its defenses.

How many only glance
At the cavern's entrance during nightmare,
Remaining in the world of frothing scoria to sear away
Year after year of joy and pain eluding the extremes
Through myopia of vision, unimaginative, unable
To see but the vague tenor of their greatness
That is poised to be resuscitated
By breath of soul's intent?


sunrise_by_cutereaper-dae0lo3.jpg


the_bridge_by_jeddaka 2.jpg

Notes


In my observation, although many are afraid of failure, they are subconsciously much more terrified of their potential to achieve greatness. In part, because it requires the acknowledgement of the suspicion that we have only been operating at a fraction of our ability for so long. (Though as we discover, since the hypothetical is unreal, it has all been the preparation for our emergence from our cocoon.) Of course, I speak, as we all do, primarily from my own experience. The saying that "youth is wasted on the young" can refer to the aimlessness of the volatile energy one possesses in adolescence and early adulthood.
.

Choice is such a vital aspect of our reality. There is endless possibility in how our lives may play out, depending upon our actions. Again we are in that paradoxical position of feeling helpless at the mercy of potent cosmic forces, yet somehow also being the very stuff that the universe is composed of and the fuel for its development. We also see that the distance between our greatest nightmares and most ecstatic dreams is not so great after all. The emphatic polarities of life beckon us to seek the comprehension of their mediation through our awareness.
.
Wishing you much balance,
in thankfulness for our communion—

@d-pend


the_bridge_by_jeddaka 3.jpg

the_bridge_by_jeddaka.jpg


sam_s_organic_universe_by_somadjinn-d7zil68 2.jpgsam_s_organic_universe_by_somadjinn-d7zil68 3.jpg

Written & spoken
By @d-pend
2/10/18
.
Images by

.
1 — "Glowing silhouette" by TMProjection
2 — "Sunrise" by CuteReaper
3 — "The bridge" by Jeddaka
4 — "Sam's organic universe" by Somadjinn


glowing_silhouette_by_tomasmascinskas-d7euhjy 3.jpgglowing_silhouette_by_tomasmascinskas-d7euhjy 2.jpg


sam_s_organic_universe_by_somadjinn-d7zil68.jpg


Sort:  

"Through myopia of vision, unimaginative, unable
To see but the vague tenor of their greatness
That is poised to be resuscitated
By breath of soul's intent?
"

My respect for you @d-pend, grows by the day, despite being new to this amazing platform. Your imaginative, intriguing poetry is really classless.
Yes, we could be all we truly want to be, yet we see only a "vague tenor of our greatness" having peeked "between trepidatious fingers". What makes our fingers "trepidatious" instead of calm and stable, fingers through which we could view our desired greatness, no longer in a "dewy outline", but as something crystal clear, solid and achievable??
You still answered it all;
"Through myopia of vision, unimaginative, unable
To see but the vague tenor of their greatness
That is poised to be resuscitated
By breath of soul's intent?"

Shortness of vision, unimagination,lack of confidence, you name it.
I wish i could make the whole world read this so that our next generation of men would realise as you said in your "Notes" that "that the distance between our greatest nightmares and most ecstatic dreams is not so great after all.".
All we will ever require is the "breath of soul's intent".
Thank you.

Ye, that's it. Poetry is not just putting words together for rhyme and metrics. Both aesthetics and meaning are essential parts of it. Art is not raw technique but a representation of the mind. This, d-pend does masterfully.

There is no doubt at all that none achieve the aims of his/her life without strong will power as well as confronting power. So this poetry is basically putting a positive energy among folks to figure out their weaknesses and face the hurdles of life with powerful approach. How beautifully & smoothly message has been conveyed to motivate the steemians Daniel :)

There is endless possibility in how our lives may play out, depending upon our actions. Again we are in that paradoxical position of feeling helpless at the mercy of potent cosmic forces, yet somehow also being the very stuff that the universe is composed of and the fuel for its development.

None has done Great in his/her life by staying in his/her comfort zone. Yes, life demands courage and bravery to come out of the fear to face the nightmares at any cost in any situation. Yes this is not a 2 minutes poetry with heart touching voice but a motivational message for all of us To Live Life in a better way.

Massive respect to the most generous and kind person who is a constant source of inspiration for me My Spirtual Brother, My Best Friend aka @d-pend <3 <3 <3

You seem like a man of substance. Your thinking is beyond comprehension. I had to reread the poem thrice to get it. It really isn't a poem, if it doesn't force you to read it more than once. This was a brilliant read. Your choice of words is clever. Simply marvelous. Btw, I write too, you can visit my page and upvote if you like my work. Would really appreciate your support. :)

Our words are nothing without good works, we expect more than what we give. Thanksgiving flies on the wings of humility, this is the principle of sublime freedom. We are a shadow of spiritual freedom, limited within the framework of our human consciousness. Your poetry gives meaning and depth, the heart feels joy in wise thoughts.

Thank you @d-pend for the wonderful poetry that gives us the strength to fly on spiritual knowledge.

Totally agree, fearing failure is more comfortable than accepting our fear of achievement. Once we do achieve the heights, where do we go from there? While we're on the ground, we have what to look up to, gives us a sense of purpose, misguided as it may be. Peace

I loved the metaphor of the cavern and the nothingness that allows for hope to plot. This piece was very contemplative and its questioning nature causes one to ponder. Nice write.

I guess many are afraid of failure because there is a thin line between success and failure. I always love your spoken word poetry..

I’ve published (some 5 years ago) this line that echoes your sentiment:

Fear of success stems from a greater self
mistrust than fear of failure.

With fear of failure, some of it is about what will others think, whereas most of fear of success has to do with ourselves.

By random association I think of endurance artist, David Blane, who through his fears dares to remind us of our greatness (as you do, here).

One of his feats of endurance involved starving himself in solitary confinement, suspended from a crane by the River Thames in a glass box for 44 days. The illusionist believed that living without food and human contact, he’d experience “a higher spiritual state,” that would lead to “the purest state you can be in.”

Members of the public repaid him for his efforts by pelting him with insults, paint-filled balloons, tomatoes, golf balls and other forms of violent distraction; i.e. trying to cut off his water supply, and flying a remote controlled helicopter carrying a burger up to his box.

This is the mob’s unfortunate suspicion, nay, outright hostility towards the exceptional. As you surmise, people are loath to be reminded of their own neglected human possibilities...

8117FB54-36D3-4B4F-BD39-5795ACD85499.jpeg

Hey @dpend ..i downloaded and listened to your piece...it's uplifting and encouraging . Reminds me of what i have been going through. Please allow me to share with you because I feel if i share it here, i might get some more motivation. I also think you can write another poem on this that might definitely help me and others who might be in the same situation as mine. Doesn't matter whether it will take me the whole night to finish typing it but i just have to share it here.
I have been going through some sort of weird trauma or let me call it depression feeling for are about two months now. Been getting panic attacks and feeling anxious from time to time. A feeling of fear and pressure keeps engulfing me whenever I'm out there among people or crowds. It has reached a point that when people around me are talking, it feels as if they are talking about me. I'd try to get and understand what they are saying but wouldn't get a thing.
Sometimes i try to ignore and tell myself that perhaps I'm overthinking. Sometimes it's difficult to ignore and it goes ahead to torment my mind.
This has made me stay indoors for a while now although i get to push myself to go outside for a few minutes. It also feels like i lost a part of me since i have lost all the motivation to do things i used to love doing.
I recall it started last year out of the blues when i suddenly began hallucinating and hearing voices in my head (sounded like me talking to myself in my mind). I hadn't taken or done any drug then although i had been drinking alcohol nearly everyday trying to get over a heartbreak i got a few months earlier. I had also quit using marijuana 2 year earlier that is 2015 to be precise. Those are pretty much the drugs i have ever used in my life.
When the hallucinating and voices in my head popped out of nowhere ,I became very paranoid and disturbed.I couldn't really understand why and where it all came from. Something would tell me that perhaps I was under a spiritual attack. I would ask myself but how and i hadn't been, neither was i in an occult group.
Since it started while i was in school (miles away from home), i had to run back home.
It got worse while i was at home and i somehow lost my senses. I couldn't use a phone, couldn't critically engage in a conversation, couldn't understand what people around me were saying or doing, felt rejected and neglected, felt like an outcast and nearly everything that made sense to me stopped making sense.
I felt like i had completely lost my life. I was helpless and useless. Anytime i was around the radio or television , i would begin to think that it's actually talking about me.The voices in my head would tell me to kill myself and i would lock myself somewhere in a room and cry bitterly . I remember one of youngest brothers was the one who would take care and watch over me while my parents were away.
As days passed by, I stopped believing that i had gone crazy and started believing that i was dead and in a spiritual world. I was taken to a psychiatric doctor who did tests on me and administered some medical drugs for me to take. With time, i the hallucination and the voices went away.
The only thing that has been bothering me is the fear, panic attacks and anxiety which actually bring a lot of discomfort and restlessness. It is not and has never been a fun feeling for me at all. I would say spending my time online especially on steemit has helped keep me busy and also helped me stop overthinking; though not completely.
I hope to get my life back soon.

am surprised by your intelligence in the way you combine the words and the good explanation you give, after each verse I bow and I take my hat off before you ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29