Da-Doo [Music]

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Hello Music Fans. Did you think I'd given up composing music for #dsound? Not even close! I've got dozens of songs already finished, and I think I found the perfect song to celebrate the Winter Solstice.

Title: Da-Doo
Artist: Alan Menken
Album: Little Shop of Horrors Soundtrack
Year: 1987

This song was re-engineered using the original sheet music I borrowed from the library. @creativetruth programmed in the notes, rhythms, sound styles, and volumes with the presets allowed using the Korg-Gadget software for Nintendo Switch.

Little Shop of Horrors has always been near to and dear to my heart. I love songs with a doo-wop beat, and this is one of the best bubblegum pop songs I remember growing up, and it even has a bit of the pentatonic scales mixed in to give it a slight Oriental flair (which fits the tone of the quirky scene in the film when Seymour buys a mystical plant from a Chinese man.) Further more it cracks me up that the alien plant arrived on earth during a total eclipse of the sun, and this year we had a full Moon almost perfectly coinciding with the Winter Solstice, so I think that is extra fitting to share it with you tonight.

This song was composed using several tracks, mostly for added sound effects and vocal back-ups: Elec. piano 1 (bass), star punk (treble), choir 3 and choir 2 (vocals and boy band and boy bass), choir 1 (Ahhs), choir 2 (oohs), vibraphone (twinkle), various percussion (snaps, droplet, CH synhat, CH trapp, BD, destroy, CP southern), space ray (Uniclasic), and lightning (cinematic 4).

Listen to the original song from the film below, and compare to the version I made for #dsound.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Very cool. You're really into Little Shop. I like it too.

It's my first time to hear this piece of music, very nice @creativetruth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95