Into Elysian Fields

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Into Elysian Fields

Come now brave warrior,
your battle is over
And your journey has been long
Lay down your blood drenched sword,
And follow me to comfort,
Away from this world and all its housed wrong
Let me cut you free from your Gordian knots
Bathe you and oint you
And cover you in silk
Lay myself down beside you and
drown out the sorrow with opiate milk.
No willing hands will be required
to place ‘Charon’s Obol’ here
For the journey ahead does not
Request for you to pay a fare.
So take a firm grip
Of my hand placed in yours
And let me guide you
Into the Elysian fields
Where your soul can be at rest
And your hands are set free
Of weapons to wield.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

U5dryJTkzxt285RdLyVD6RDhFcNY7MN.gif

Sort:  

very useful and quality, I love to read this article.
DQmVg3hMMx1DNWgJCMDmUtSxepTHcsxQmMELqGbdLym1aiv_1680x8400.jpeg

Loving this poem @breezin. The feel of it is dreamy and flows like a river through time. The mythological elements/details

No willing hands will be required
to place ‘Charon’s Obol’ here
For the journey ahead does not
Request for you to pay a fare.

really paint the picture of a warrior being carried into Elysian Fields. The feel of the poem reminded me of that scene in the film 'Gladiator' where he is dying and floating over the golden fields toward his house, his wife and child playing and the strange glow of death encroaching. A bit of a strange comparison I know as this is not the image in the poem, but that's the association it gave me. Your poem is better than that scene in the movie though. Great poetry :-)

Oh wow @raj808 given your high standards this is a huge compliment to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67135.09
ETH 3126.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72