A New Take On Concrete Wings

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Concrete Wings:

There’s nights and there’s days,
there’s brought up in unguided ways.
There’s fever, there’s scars,
at least through the windows I can still see the stars.

And in my mangled youth,
they did proclaim,
that their concrete wings,
would fit my back the same.

There’s life and there’s death,
there’s “save your breath.”
There’s hope and there’s dreams,
There’s plotted schemes.

And in-between all that the world deprives of the eye,
with my concrete wings I still tried to fly.

There’s hurt and there’s pain,
there’s “Oh Fuck, Here I Go Again.”
There’s words, there’s lies,
there’s just too many alibis.

And with all the things,
that’s left unsaid,
they furnish concrete wings,
with polished lead.

But Now;
Now there’s two sets of hands, two sets of feet,
and all together, just one heart beat.
There’s good night my Angel,
Don’t you cry.
There’s should mommy sing you a lullaby?

There’s love, there’s gain,
there’s, we can start anew again.

There’s ‘mommy is trying’
and ‘life is tough,’
but don’t worry baby,
I am sure we’ll enough.

There’s “I don’t see you that much,
and I do miss you so,
but I really need to get to work,
mommy really has to go.”

These fingers are worked down to bone,
and my body bares the stings,
but it’s ok, at least I know you’ll never wear,
these horrid concrete wings.

There’s hope but there’s fear,
there’s no one near,
there’s pleas and there’s cries
and there’s “O’ Lord please tell me why’s?”

And then there is the devil,
standing at your door,
who melts your wings,
into your core.

There’s mommy will always be here,
and mommy will catch you when you fall.
And all of a sudden, there’s my sweet, darling child,
mommy won’t be home at all.

There’s soil, there’s wood,
there’s “I’m sorry that I never could,
do all the things I haven’t done,
that I promised you I would.

But Please;
Leave the iron & stone with me,
they were never meant for you!

She turns around and says;
You rest now mommy, you taught me well,
I’ll carry this thing through.
I know that you tried real hard mom,
but the wings just can’t stay here,
your wings have now become my own,
It’s the burden I must bare.

A very spacial thank you to @globocop for the amazing kindness and support & 'spicing' up this poetry reading. MUCH LOVE TO YOU!

14793772283211174753240.jpg


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

You are amazing - the way you write and read these words - world class.
Looking forward to doing much more together...

Believe me - so do I

Hmmmm really amazing..

Thank you so much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Beautiful poem. Thanks for sharing my friend @breeze!!

Such a pleasure Gift, did you enjoy the music towards the end of the poem?

Unfortunately I did not listen to it on dsound. But for what I read it was awesome dear.

Oh not a problem I was just wondering.

Really beautiful poetry @breezin , the ambiance at the end is a real nice touch also. Great work!

Yeah @globocop added that beautiful segment and played it in his show the other night - he requested that I share the piece again, and how could I not after he so brilliantly made it sound awesome!

Absolutely beautiful! Being a parent I can totally feel the emotion and wisdom in these amazing words! Great poem!

Yes kids do have that ability to scratch out emotions that we as parents never knew existed before they did!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95