Songs About Islam for the Whole Family

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)



Let me begin with this - I am not a Muslim. Nor do I belong to any organized religion.

I am, however, an admirer of philosophy, spirituality and poetry, and over the past few years had been planning to record a childrens project drawing featuring songs from all different major world religions, focussing on the similarities of the ethical truths, rather than the differences.

It is my belief that every culture, every tradition, every religion, hold beautiful myths and poetic narratives that can help unlock our sense of psychological internal truth. I do not believe in the literal truth of religions, but their symbolic truth. We need collective stories, myths and dreams in order to understand who we are, who we have been, and where we are going.

This project took a turn when Trump first began talking about his travel ban in 2016. I saw that one particular religious history was in danger of being dismissed en masse.
I felt it important to stand up as an admirer of the art, poetry and beauty of all cultures, and not someone who believes that we relegate beauty into the dustbin of history because of current political turmoil.

At that point I gathered all my Islam inspired songs, and released them as the album "Ben Lee Sings Songs About Islam for the Whole Family". All proceeds went to the ACLU.

This is a project designed to open minds and hearts, create compassion and empathy between people who are different, and teach kids to look for connection rather than divisiveness.

You can listen to "La Ilaha Ill Allah" from the album via the DSound link below.
If you are interested in learning more about this record, I explained a little further here
youtube.com/watch?v=0GFibKlM8Pg

This album is available on all digital platforms. Thank you for listening!
@benleemusic


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Is that the album art? It's awesome.

goatsig

Yes. Designed by www.jonmarro.com a great artist friend - glad you like it!

It's a great idea and album, thanks a lot! When I had heard about it a while ago, I had assumed that the project was an immediate reaction to all these preposterous trumpisms, it's interesting to hear that the initial idea was there all along.

It was percolating for years. Ive actually got lots of songs for other religions unreleased.

With all the harsh political atmosphere, it's nice to see your spreading joy and healing message that we are all one. You're blessed.

So much respect for this! I don't belong to an organised religion either but was raised Catholic - and with the belief that everything you do should be in the name of peace. It must have taken a lot of courage to do this. Keep on! 💪

That's awesome, mate. Respect you even more.

yes, I believe that no matter my own personal philosophical or religious beliefs that I can find something of value and to appreciate in all of the other philosophies and religions.

Also, when I came across this album I thought of John Walker's Blues by Steve Earle, perhaps a different sentiment but both demonstrate bravery to speak out and challenge the status quo of the governing administration.

Interestingly, both Steve and I have the same manager, Danny Goldberg. Thanks for your thoughts.

No matter our religious, political and cultural differences love is a binding factor that unite us for a better world. Let love reign

Di setiap negara ada berbagai agama dan tradisi ataupun budaya, saya suka dgn prinsip anda walaupun bukan muslim tapi tetap menyukai lagu lagu muslim, dan setiap manusia itu punya keyakinan dan tradisi tersendiri, yang paling di utama kan adalah saling menghargai agama apa yang di anut, baginya agamanya bagiku agama ku

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22