Song I Wrote for Kermit & Miss Piggy in 2011's "The Muppets"

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)

kermit-the-frog-miss-piggy-muppets-abc.jpg

In 2008, I was approached by Disney and invited to write some songs to submit for consideration for their upcoming reboot of "The Muppets" starring Jason Segel and Amy Adams.

This was a true dream gig for me as I have always loved the Muppets mix of gorgeous songwriting, heartfelt messages and playfulness, and my collaborator Michael B Wells and I sat down with the brief from Disney and crafted a bunch of songs that we felt fit right in to the Muppets canon. We were particularly proud of the Kermit/Miss Piggy duet we wrote "Pig/Frog Love".

Somewhat heart-breakingly at the time, none of these songs were used in the film. Nonetheless, this is our little contribution to the Muppet universe!

I actually loved how the movie came out, and the songs, mostly written by the brilliant Brett McKenzie of Flight of the Conchords, were awesome.

So no hard feelings - but still love our tunes :)

Enjoy
@benleemusic



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Really cool! Thanks for sharing

Ah, the Muppet show! I've always loved the Muppets. Still great songs even though they were never taken though. 😁 👍
You could still put this somewhere where people can still get to hear them. Or well, that's what you've done by putting em up here on steemit, right? Keep it up 👍
😁

@nevies son of Aphrodite

Exactly! On the Blockchain for eternity! ;)

So it would seem my friend!

lol I like your Kermit Impression haha.

That's an awesome gig opp though. Not easy to write kids songs!

Thats actually Mikey my co-writer. He does a great Kermit.

Ah i see. Well i take back my compliment then and redirect it to Mikey. And If u could pass that along to him that ‘d be appreciated 😂

Jim Henson is the hero of my childhood. Like really my role model. My favorite movie is The Dark Crystal, and I learned values with The Muppets. I recently had the chance to perform Labyrinth/Dark Crystal themes with the designers of the movie and his daughter as guest of the concert. That´s a great honor to have been considered. I particularly love the Man or Muppet in the new one (I made a cover with my rats I'd love to share with you, and also of "The Rainbow connection") but I felt sad when Disney logo was all over and Henson´s name a little bit obscured from the credits. I liked the movie though. Loved the song, it has indeed a "muppet" vibe :)

I remember seeing both Dark Crystal and Labyrinth at the movies as a kid - deeply formative films!

If we ever coincide on dlive I will play one from those. I really love Henson and his philosophy. I am happy to have been a kid in the 80s when these films were made.

like cats and dog, I just like song, execellent sweety voice. Duel song always I like it.

Benlee music am looking forward to doing a cover of your song soon going to be priviledge

Wow would love to hear that!

Huge fan of the muppets!! Well done, my friend!

That's awesome! Will have to have a listen tonight. I've put together a tongue in cheek clip comparing you & I to Kermit. I must finish that & put it on here.

Cant wait to see that!

Ha! Funny song. Sorry it didn't get used.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83