"Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 21 entry" 4 - Poetry

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Information Finding Championship

Season 1 - Round 21

Poetry

If you haven't seen the post on Round 21 - check it out here.

If dsound isn't your thing you can just read the poem. I wrote this a little while back, maybe 2011? but it's one of my favorites and I think the rhyme scheme on it sounds nice and is a bit more like traditional poetry so I thought it would be a good entry for this challenge.

I made this picture to go along with my poem - inspiration was taken from my tarot deck's grim card.

I've Met Him, The Grim
by a.marie.speaks

I met him at the corner
of Nowhere and Everywhere
My blank stare collided
with His sickle
as the dew drops began to trickle
off blades of grass
masses of flowers surround
gravestones that line the ground
Mist slowly lifts
through the air it gently twists
But amidst it I can see
He grasps that sickle gracefully,
Waits for Me..
to speak, to move,
acknowledge that I am His food-
His prey.
At His disposal,
Lose all control,
Beg Him to let me stay
Just One More Day!
But I just smile, all the while
a spring in my step
Not a fret on my brow,
in leaps and bows
I make my way
and He didn't hesitate
a grin did begin to make its way
across His thin and tired face
His embrace was all but strange
and within it Everything changed.
Night to Dawn
all along
this place was no cemetery,
no dump for the dead..
its kinda scary, I must've bumped my head..
cause I'm back in my bed-
lacking my friend
it was never The End.
But it was my time,
time for a change so drastic
my Past left in a casket.

giphy (1).gif



► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Wow.. That's really deep. Great writing amariespeaks! I like the artwork you included as well, very creative and some of the lines extra resonated with me. I wonder what some of those lines mean to you and what inspired them..

Anyways.. Thanks for another great entry! Awesome poem, a bit dark. But I think most really good poetry probably is a bit dark. Definitely still pretty awesome and powerful in my opinion!

thank you @apolymask ! I almost chose a different one but in the end I really disliked the picture I did for it so I went with this one and the grim reaper painting. It is a bit dark.. much lighter than some of my stuff but also a lot darker than most of my newer stuff lol I think it has a nice ending, kind of playful.. I don't know I'm no poetry expert I just write shit that rhymes sometimes.. ;-)

It was partially inspired by Emily Dickinson's Because I could not stop for Death. I could relate a lot to her during this time in my life. I was working very hard to pull myself together and move on from many things and I came up with this idea that I needed to bury my past - not in a shameful way but in honor of it, kind of? And in doing "at my past's funeral" I then realized I was standing at a new beginning not a final resting place..

Glad you liked it :)

I loved reading this and then I listened to your version. Fantastic! What great entry, with art and the reading. Great Job! I'd have to agree with apolymask, a little dark, but epic!

thanks @iexplore!! I'm so happy to hear you liked it! and the artwork too :-D I thought it had a bit of power in it - and a positive ending. I was going to choose a more light hearted one but ended up going with this.

I'm glad you went with this one. It was a great entry! Good luck!

Didn't have enough power to listen to the audio but the written version was really good. I love the theme that you infused in the poem, of death not being an end but a beginning of something different and how that knowledge makes you confident enough to ignore his "thin and tired face"

Lovely poetry @ameriespeaks.

thank you so much @warpedpoetic I'm having huge issues with dsound today lol nothing I want to listen to is working! but thanks for trying! I just started doing spoken word.. I've been writing poetry for a long time but never spoke it out loud lol
Yes, it's all about embracing the endings, what may feel like death even, and not being afraid of it.. trusting in the cycle - I'm glad you liked it, that means a lot coming from such a great writer like you!

Note to self: sleep when you are tired. 😂
@amariespeaks, I apologise for my poor grammar, my eyes were half closed.

I too just started doing poetry on dsound; I have done three so far or is it four? Well, it has been liberating I think, to actually hear my words spoken and gives me a clearer picture of what I miss when I just write and post a poem.

I have even gotten a curie for one of it, so I encourage you to continue finding new ways to express yourself.


Yes, it's all about embracing the endings, what may feel like death even, and not being afraid of it.. trusting in the cycle

I write a lot about death myself. I find I am mostly preoccupied with the pain it causes those left to mourn and the beauty of life hidden behind the misery it causes, so I truly connected with your poem.


I'm glad you liked it, that means a lot coming from such a great writer like you!

Thank you @amariespeaks. This means much to me. It is people like you who make me write.

@warpedpoetic you're welcome :) I didn't notice any poor grammar, don't worry about it. Thanks for the encouragement. I used to write a lot of death and the beauty in pain too. I have a ton of poems that are on the darker side, which is probably why I like your writing so much. Lately, though I have gone into more of a wake up call to the world kind of poetry lol probably because I feel the world has gone crazy..even crazier than my own mind and pain now. I wrote this one a few years ago but I thought it sounded nice out loud

Oh I edited it as soon as I noticed. 😂
I tend to internalize stuff, so my only way to write about wake up call kind of poems is to make it personal. I feel though that I am slowly being repetitive and maybe I need to re-brand my style of poetry. 🤔
Do more dsound. It's fun. I enjoyed it a lot, didn't get much traction though but I'll still do it again.

yeah - I feel like that myself occasionally - I end up trying to switch up my style, sometimes it works.. sometimes it doesn't lol I'm gonna do some more dsound - it is fun and I think listening to the words is really a whole different experience, I like it more - its got more feeling.
Yeah, I haven't seen any big payouts on dsound.. or dtube really but I'll stick with it

Yeah me too. Although I got a curie for my first dsound though but since then.... It's a fun do after all and you are right about hearing the words... You know what, I'll beep you on discord... 😂 if that's okay with you?

yes definitely :) find me over there amariespeaks#9425

Great work on the poem i felt something while reading it anyways great work you have my vote

Thank you @xomegax :) I'm glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49