Composition and lighting tests

in #dslr6 years ago

72DA548C-CC6F-4CEE-8047-1F3C9F730D92.jpeg

I find using a dslr to work on the composition and lighting useful. The iso of the silver gelatin papers I use are like 1,5 or 3, the lowest I can go on a dslr is 100 or 50. Of course a bit math is done, plus the bellows extension factor and stuff gets into the calculation.
I make test strips with the 50by50 camera and when I see I got the right exposure I make the last exposure.
I used to work in wet plate collodion technique so I only got 1 plate holder that I modified to hold papers. I still work in the same way I was working with collodion. I expose the paper and go into the darkroom, develop stop fix it. If the exposure or something else needs to be tweaked I load a new paper and do the same again.

Wish me luck for not spending too many papers for each scene 😀

Sort:  

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I gave you a vote!!

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75