Drum grooving chops #3

in #drums6 years ago

Laying a little bit more into the kick drum here. Heavier playing in grooves like these provide contrast to the more finesse-oriented licks and fills that I play. This way I get to spice up my play style for a more dynamically diverse performance.

Dynamics are such a useful tool for more creative drumming, as the drum kit is somewhat limited when it comes to melody. Notice my stick height when playing the loud snare notes vs. the ghost notes. Invest plenty of time and practice into those softer dynamics to spice up your playing!

This is probably my favorite 6/8 groove. It flows so nicely and has so much room for filling in little ghost notes and short fills and licks.
And ofcourse a short and sweet piece of improv.
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47