Small Gems in the City of Pretoria South Africa

in #drum6 years ago (edited)

Very few International people know that the City that I live in, Pretoria (The Jacaranda City), Is also our capital city. Rated as the most boring city in the world according the the Australian cricket team. But what would they know really?

iu.jpeg

Pretoria does however have a few hidden gems when it comes to counter cultures. Booming underground rock Culture, large Micro Brew community and then the little Gems like the Klitsgras Drumming circle.

This Friday I attended the First Drumming circle for the year. Been a few years since I last attended and I can indeed say that I am rather disappointed in myself for not going over the last few years. Especially since its only a 15 minute drive from where I live.

  • Band – Sister Natty and the Noise. (Go find them and like them)
  • Drum Circle
  • West-African Drummers
  • Didgeridoo players
  • Fire Dancers

The Event Was pure bliss. From the band to the Circle itself. The venue is great and has cover for the drumming circle itself seeing as though it can rain quite a lot this side.

27710014_10157629439549852_2356389736181049988_o.jpg

27797408_10157629439429852_5834290216050702947_o.jpg

As I am an Audiophile I recorded at least 50 minutes of audio which I will process and chop up. I will then upload to dSound so that you can all have a listen to it. Might take me a few days to get to it though. The acoustics of the venue are also pretty insane. The roof is made of sink (corrugated Iron) and resonates quite heavily when the action inside the pit starts hitting full swing. This however adds to the Beauty of what you are listening to, adding its own unique quality.

Unfortunately I didn't think ahead so the microphone I use to record on my phone was not with me. However the audio recording capabilities on my phone are not too shabby so it can be listened to. Thanks Big Brother ;)

Photos used in this post except for the Jacaranda one were taken directly from the Klitgras page:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/klitsgras/about/

The photo of the jacarandas was taken from an internet search and this only happens once a year. If you are not around then you miss it.

So the bottom line here is, If you ever find yourself in the City of Pretoria, South Africa, it's a Friday night and you have nothing better to do, then I highly recommend attending one of their events. You can hire a drum should you wish to get involved with the proverbial beat down, should you not own one for yourself.

Sort:  

Thank you so much, yeah many people feel that way, but also jozi is just a short drive away. Great great post you've got a new follower!

@pjcswart Thank you kindly. True that Jozi is a short drive away but not many of you guys come this side. Jozi does however have an incredible nightlife itself.

You go out a lot?

Well locally yes. Jozi I do once in a while. Was at Hells Kitchen over the weekend in Melville.

Cool is it still a fun place? I like The Orbit.

Yeah the place is still fun. Getting a bit young for me now though ;)

What a great evening it was! Even with my mishap's during the day, I still had a awesome time!!

I've been living in Pretoria for the past 15 years and really do love the place :)

Hi, I've followed you and commented on the vote. Hope you will vote for me.

Than you very much. Will check out your feed.

one of my best friends grew up in Pretoria! South Africa is on my list of places to visit before I die, I just havent found a month or two I can take off from life to really explore and experience SA like I want. thank you for sharing!

South Africa is rather large and you probably would need quite some time to check it out. But you must definitely come and visit. We have a really really beautiful country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46