You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Encryption, upgrades, and VO.3 release

in #drugwars5 years ago (edited)

Man. I had high hopes that these sudden unannounced changes that completely upend gameplay were a thing of the past.

soniamdisappoint.gif

Is it possible to please stop doing this? Give people a chance to consider these kinds of sweeping changes, comment, consider replies, and prepare for them? What is the impetus to so radically change battles with no warning?

Really. I'm not even discussing the specific changes being better or not. Just stahp blindsiding us with changes that completely and radically alter the game. Also, do I need to point out that if your encryption was hacked, then keeping it in effect essentially rewards the hackers and harms everyone that didn't hack the game? Don't let hackers win by cheating. It is vastly preferable to simply stop encrypting, or change encryption immediately. Even just stopping encryption when it's hacked penalizes the hackers, because they sunk all that time and energy into gaining power over everyone else, that leaving hacked encryption in place delivers to them.

I'd appreciate it.

Sort:  

Well I wouldn't say I would be penalized by stopping the encryption, because it only took me like 15 minutes. I also haven't used it anywhere as I play very passive and don't attack . I also didn't release the whole decryption code to anybody else.

But yeah otherwise I completly agree with you :)

Well, hey, 15 minutes is something. I am happy to hear your interest wasn't in taking advantage of your cryptographic skillset, and also that you didn't enable any potential bad actors by releasing the hack.

Thanks!

It's more like a fun version of sudoku :D

Well I can't make sure that others haven't found the same and abused it...

But meanwhile the encryptions has been changed :) And it's now on a per user base. So it shouldn't be possible to read other peoples activity :)
(You could however automate your own activities, but I guess there is no way around that :/ )

So they fixed the encryption issue? How did you hack it?

@valued-customer, I am sorry you feel this way. As for our upgrades, they have been announced a couple of days in advance. We started announcing it in that way a week or so ago. I personally go over all the comments on every posts, all the messages in discord and DMs and keep a notebook of players wishes and ideas. The architect is in-check with players too. We are aware that not all upgrades can be liked or accepted by everyone but we are trying to find solutions that will make at least most of you satisfied.
The encryption is being worked on. We appreciate your feedback and the time you spend thinking and providing us with your ideas and thoughts. It means a lot to us. Thank you.

I was paying pretty close attention, follow @drugwars account, and never saw these changes explained prior to the announcement they were live. I will grant that I am fallible, and don't discord. It's possible you are speaking the gospel truth and my inattention was my own fault.

I also appreciate very much your engagement in comments. It's a great sign of folks that aren't interested in simply parasitizing wallets, but are intent on creating a community.

I get that feeling ya'll are the latter kind of folk, and those are generally folks I don't mind keeping company with.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25