You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Encryption, upgrades, and VO.3 release

in #drugwars5 years ago

Nope we can not change how the game works or what ressources/units we have.
That would require access to the database/server which wasn't compromissed in any way :)
(But I can check if they used the same password for that as well. that could be funny. )

Sort:  

Nope we can not change how the game works or what ressources/units we have.

I assumed if hackers can do that in AAA games. Change how the game works in multiplayer that it wouldnt be difficult to do in a game like Drug Wars.
I might be wrong.

"Hackers" (more correct would be cheaters) in multiplayer games don't change values on the servers. (ie nobody can just hack to get global elite in csgo), but they can change how the client works and for example emulate a perfect aim. And cheat their way to global elite.

Aha. I see. I dont know how i would parallel that to Drug Wars. What would be the worse you could do, i.e. cheat.

I could read what all players do and write a programm to automatically attack players who don't have any units and nothing build for long enough, etc.

I wouldn't say 100% of the time it is cheaters / cheating. 99% of the time in the way the word is being used in this conversation it would be used for cheating and it can be frustrating (I remember being about to win the flying upside down in a plane thing in GTA V just to suddenly die and then be inside a glass box for the rest of that mini-game / in world competition - still curious how that one is done and that's happened to me more than once - just most frustrating right then).

But I've also seen someone riding a boat with its own individual bit of water (like a wave at the front basically) on the land in GTA V (so they've clearly messed with the game in some way, and either "hacked it" or taken advantage of a bug in the game) and I even hopped in with them since they stopped and let me and they just seemed to be messing around and it didn't really affect other players negatively so I wouldn't really call that one cheating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26