You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Encryption, upgrades, and VO.3 release

in #drugwars5 years ago

We are proud to announce that we are working on the 0.3 release of the game where there will be no need to refresh the game because it will refresh itself after a certain action.

Proud... If someone offered that as a solution on a team I headed, I would seriously consider firing them. That is at best a hack job to momentarily fix a problem that you should continue work on. The entire purpose of the whole ajax thing that's evolved into what we have today was to avoid loading entire websites just for tiny little things. I can't even explain how much I am facepalming right now. I'm sure people that aren't devs won't understand...but that's embarrassing. I'm sure you have a lot on your plate, so it's not a priority...but don't frame it like it's some great thing. It's not.

I really hope it doesn't take as long as a standard reload with this update...

Sort:  

I thought the same thing when i read that line. Kill the SPA architecture and just refresh the page on each action.

Reminds me of a messed up project where they refreshed the page in a angular application because they couldn't figure out how to wire it up properly.

I somewhat agree with you but I'm a bit more shy about shitting on him/them over it. Maybe you know more about them than I do but for all I know, they could be students who are still learning and shitting on them is just not going to be helpful.

Well, mostly I had a disagreement with the way it was framed. Hopefully the coders didn't frame it in such a excited perfect light.

Believe it or not, I actually toned down what I was going to say a lot. I blame their previous missteps. I don't seem to have that much patience left.

From those missteps, I would actually assume the coder doesn't have a lot of experience in some thing.

but don't frame it like it's some great thing. It's not.

Every new implementation and upgrade is a great thing. Progress is a great thing. We have no intention to stop moving forward and developing the game. Step by step, little by little, one line of code after another and yes, we will keep being proud of everything that has been accomplished so far with happy smiles on our faces and an eager expectation of what is to come.

Every new implementation and upgrade is a great thing.

No, no it's not. This is an example of a tiny temporary patch that is actually kind of embarrassing. These kind of patches should be framed like "We've temporarily patched DrugWars to auto-refresh after certain actions until we can patch all of the issues causing users to have to refresh the page." There are MANY updates and upgrades in software that aren't great. Some of them actually make things worse. But you make your choices in what to do with an application given what you can figure out to do in the time that is given.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67024.68
ETH 3312.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74