You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Win Cannabis Legalization Battle — Lose War for Freedom

in #drugwar6 years ago

I think we are trending away from "no restrictions" and that the scope of government interference in our lives is increasing. If only it were true that because people were asserting their "freedom and rights" and constraining government to protecting them that there were "no restrictions". Just to be clear, IMO, so long as you are not infringing on the live, liberty or property of anyone else, so long as you are respecting everyone's freedoms and rights, you have the right to do whatever you want.

It is true no doubt that every permissible thing is not good. I am objecting here to the premise that The State has the legitimate right/authority to permit or not permit the possession, consumption or distribution of cannabis. Please check out Lysander Spooner's excellent essay Vices Are Not Crimes

Sort:  

I’m of the opinion that, the use of drugs make us not deal with situations. Always look for the easy way out. Someone high on drugs, is likely to commit a crime for money, than someone who doesn’t use drugs.

I know what you mean. Personally, I used cannabis to escape the reality of world we live in -- I could not deal with the injustice, warmongering, greed etc... But I also got valuable insights from using cannabis. It sparked my musical creativity and love of nature and there were many times in my 25 year career as computer programmer, analyst, and systems administrator, when I would solve the toughest work problems at home after having some cannabis. So, like Lysander Spooner explains in Vices Are Not Crimes it all depends on how you use something (so long as you are not infringing on the life, liberty and property of another).

Regarding people who are high on drugs committing crimes to get money to buy more drugs, yes, that is obviously causing harm. One thing to consider is that drug prohibition leads to much higher prices for drugs which in turn leads to crime and violence.

I do not think that everything will just magically work out if all drug prohibitions are removed -- it will take time and multiple generations living with this freedom for people to learn to accept personal responsibility for their actions.

Personally, I hate smoke. If people will only smoke in their homes, I don’t have a problem. I just don’t wanna inhale it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33