The war on weed may be over but the war on some drugs continues

in #drugs6 years ago

I never call it the War on Drugs it's the war on some drugs. There is no war on alcohol or tobacco or caffeine. All of which are more harmful than Mushrooms and LSD. I can't believe it's 2017 and psychedelics are still not legal. These drugs are not dangerous and help many people, yet they are as illegal as ever.

I have been exhausted waiting for weed to become legal in Canada.

Every day for the last three years there has been some insane hysterical reaction from someone. My city decided to ban all public consumption of pot, meanwhile the smoking of cigarettes is still legal. WTF? The government is only allowing us to buy dried flower, no extracts or edibles. These are all just senseless restrictions on my freedom so the government can be seen as doing something. I don't understand why people who don't consume cannabis should have any say in all this. You don't like the smell of weed coming from my apartment? I don't like the smell of your cooking, but I can't do anything about that. The only smell people can complain about in my building is weed, not incense or tobacco or stinky cooking.

IMG_20181016_192204.jpg

Shatter extract, still illegal

I don't care if you don't like the smell. I don't care you don't want your teenager to do drugs. What about my rights? How are your children able to impede my freedom? The whole "think of the children" tactic works though, I will give the other side that.

I smoked weed every day at university and have a great academic record. Pot smoking should not be banned on university campuses, its crazy. People smoke cigarettes there, I am not sure how one type of smoke is okay and another is not. At least ban smoking too. But my former school has banned toking campus wide. But you can step outside and smoke a cigarette no problem....

The media is the enemy of freedom

I realized the war on drugs was bullshit when I tried cocaine and didn't find it addictive. At all. Some people get hooked, but some people get hooked on alcohol too. I know all sorts of people who have done cocaine or who still do, and not one became the stereotypical down and out crack head. That is how the media still portray cocaine, as a dangerous deadly drug.

The media has one interest, selling papers (or today getting clicks). Like that Bill Hicks routine says the media NEVER has good stories on drugs. They continue to force this all drugs are bad narrative down our throats. All the bad stories are news, all the good ones are ignored. While I find the term "Sheeple" to be the term of conspiracy nuts, its exactly what the readers of the news are. It isn't because the media is "controlled" either, its' because exploitative stories sell papers and positive stories about drugs do not.

IMG_20180922_093527.jpg

Mushrooms still illegal

As long as one in ten thousand LSD trips ends in total disaster it will never be legal. The media loves stories about people who jumped out a window on LSD or committed some strange violent act. It doesn't matter that alcohol causes 1000s of violent acts every day, the rare bad act from someone on psychedelics makes the news.

I investigated this because I found some videos of people in the 70s on PCP (a drug I never tried) and none of them were violent. The whole strip off all your clothes and fight ten cops on angel dust is sold by the media as how people react to PCP. But it isn't true, that's an extremely rare reaction.

The media still does this today, just with bath salts and flakka. These drugs are just stimulants. They don't cause the insane reactions law enforcement and the media tell people they do. You can find honest reports on drugs from bluelight.org from the users themselves. Don't rely on the media or the government or the police for the truth about drugs, they have agendas. There are drug harm reduction sites with the sole agenda of telling the truth.

The worst side effect of most drugs is you can get caught by the law and have your life ruined.

Police pick and choose which laws to enforce

There is a "safe injection" room near me. This room allows junkies to shoot up and be revived if they OD. Police are allowing this to happen, therefore some hard drugs are defacto decriminalized. But if I were to open an opium den I would be shut down. So the powers that be are allowing the streets to be over run with the most deadly forms of opiates like Fentanyl, but if I were to try and help by selling raw opium I would be thrown in jail. There is something wrong with this picture. Very few people have ever died from an opium overdose.

Fentanyl is on the streets because of prohibition. The people selling it are addicts themselves, going after the big bad bad drug dealer is almost always the law going after someone with an addiction. All these people should be be on medical opiods of known potency, not the Russian roulette of Fentanyl. William S Burroughs injected pharmaceutical opiates until his 90s, the danger is with unknown dosages not the drugs themselves. As long you know your dosage and understand how tolerance works you won't die. You don't need a nurse to watch you either. People with a prescription can even hold jobs, they are criminals because the street price of illegal drugs is artificially high. I predict civilized nations will eventually move this way.

I am going to keep doing what I always do

Trip balls once a month, and smoke weed any place I feel is discreet. My city enacted fines for public toking, but you know what, you haven't caught me smoking yet. It's sad that as a white man in my 40s who takes drugs at home I am almost immune from the drug war. But thousands of people still get caught. Mostly young, poor, and non white people. The war needs sacrificial lambs and some people are going to get their lives ruined because of a chemical.

It's crazy this is still happening in 2017. The last day of cannabis prohibition, I am going to smoke half a joint today when its still illegal and relight it after midnight, so one joint can be both illegal and legal.

IMG_20181016_201631.jpg

“Wouldn't you like to see a positive LSD story on the news? To base your decision on information rather than scare tactics and superstition? Perhaps? Wouldn't that be interesting? Just for once?
Today, a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration – that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively. There's no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we're the imagination of ourselves. Here's Tom with the weather.”

source

Sort:  

I like drugs

This post has received a 9.81 % upvote from @boomerang.

Post is verry good @viraldrome..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @viraldrome!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.698 which ranks you at #5051 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 5046).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #485.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

War is never over when perpetualized across all life. Just because you are not currently persecuted doesnt mean things are over. Try looking outside of the box from time to time. Help a neighbor and so on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50