What do you do when your adult child is on drugs?

in #drugs2 years ago

So rumor has it my oldest is doing meth

I been hearing about it from different groups of people. I have my own colorful past, and know people in different types of groups. And when my former criminal friends from my past that I keep in Facebook contact with are telling me they are hearing my kid is hanging out with this guy that everyone knows is a meth and heroin dealer, it is safe to say they are likely right.

Screenshot 2022-02-05 at 16-03-34 meth - Google Search.png

I asked her when I saw her last if she is on Meth

She says no, but she is on something, if it isn't meth I worry it is heroin, but she is showing signs of it being meth, acting paranoid and thinks she is being followed. I am heartbroken and don't know what to do. I am going to be talking to some local cops about this guy and see if he is on the radar, as she is my kid and I would rather him get busted and her get caught up in it and be in jail than burying her. I am worried that she is gonna get something bad, or something with fentanyl in it and I will be burying her.

She got with this guy who introduced her to it

I know it was him, he likes to text me to tell me my daughter is a meth head over the last few months. I don't understand what he gets out of it, as I can see when I see here that she is on something and needs help, but until she admits to it and asks for help there isn't much I can do, unless she has something on here and I know it and can get her arrested. But jail isn't really what she needs, she needs rehab but she has to want it, or it is liking dragging a dead horse to water and expecting it to drink. She is 25 years old also, so it isn't like she is a minor who I can force into a rehab center.

I pray that she gets the help she needs to get clean and change her life

It is pretty much the only thing I can do. She can come home, but she won't because she know it means no drugs and she has to get a job, she could also go to her grandma's but she has a similar rule. She was in an abusive relationship and there is also a battered women shelter she could go to, but once again no drugs and you have to get a job, but they will help you get treatment and mental health help and help you find your own place. But she refuses to do that too.

I have a really hard time

Composing my thoughts when I am stressed and worried, and she is partly why I haven't been writing much, it just hasn't been grief it has been worry and concern and feeling lost about not knowing what to do. I think I need to go back to Al-Anon, it is a support group for when you have loved one addicted, I use to go to them in the 90s when my older sister was addicted to crack. Thankfully she finally over came her addiction and has been clean for over a decade now, but it helped, and I feel even more lost now with it being my kid than I did when it was my sister.

If you want to know more about Al-anon

You can find out more at the link below. It isn't just for alcoholics but other addictions too, despite what the front page of their website suggests. It was a life saver for me when I was a teen and I am wondering if it could be now for me too, and am going to check them out again, cause I truly besides talking to the cops about hearsay, don't know what else to do. I can see with my eyes she is on something, but I can't prove it.
https://al-anon.org/

Sort:  

I pray to God, that your family gets through this. Amen.

Thank you, I am praying she gets through this and gets helps or gets arrested cause if she is in jail she can't use. My biggest fear is she will OD and die, I don't want to bury my daughter. I want her to overcome this and become a version of herself that she was before she turned to drugs.

Hope you and your daughter can work through this to a positive outcome.

I hope my daughter can work through it, She has to want to get help. Sadly no matter how much you love you can't make someone get help and I won't enable it, and I won't watch her kill herself. I can only pray for her, and get help for myself to deal with the emotional toll her addiction brings, I will be okay because, I know from my sister, that sometimes you need others to get through what your loved one is doing, that is out of your control but can kill them. It is her that I am worried about not really me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43