You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Drugs, Suicide, and Extreme Sports (Mainly Drugs)

in #drugs8 years ago

"I used to do drugs. I still do, but I used to, too." Mitch Hedberg (1968-2005--died of a drug overdose)

I'd have to disagree that it is purely a matter of intellect. Addiction is a disease.

Sort:  

Probably.. However, I'd like to think that everyone has the free will to avoid from doing so. But again, I'm not an addict so I can't say much from here..

People certainly have control over the initial decision to try a substance, but addiction itself is the result of chemical changes in the brain. Nicotine , for example, is a drug that binds to the nicotinic receptors in your brain, and that chemical reaction causes a host of other chemical reactions.

Interestingly enough, I just received 23andMe results that said my genes indicate that I am more likely to be addicted to nicotine. And what do you know, I am a smoker.

Hey I wanted to get the 23andMe tests earlier last year but I read that the service discontinued or something. Same here man, a smoker - no cold sweat if if i'm out though (couldn't relate to that cold sweat thing that people talk about) - more like I smoke because I actually enjoy it lol.

No, 23andMe is still available! I highly, highly recommend doing it. There was controversy over the health risk reports so they had to change the way the service was marketed. If you get it, you'll want to download your raw data and upload it to Promethease. Their report is much more comprehensive and costs just $5.

https://www.promethease.com/

Is 23andMe still giving the map to find your long lost brothers & sisters in few generation gap, who have gone through their test?

They do. You have opt into it once you get your results. I was adopted, so I was intrigued by the possibility, but I believe the closest person mine was a 4th or 5th cousin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.28
ETH 2333.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36