Diphenhydramine (Benadryl) Trip Report

in #drugs7 years ago

I do not encourage anybody to try this. From what I've seen, most people have a bad experience when on this substance and I was no exception.

bena.jpg

Welcome! Here is a trip report from a 16-year-old.

To begin, I'd first like to say that I honestly don't know why I would even attempt this since I spend all my time researching ways drugs can be safe, harm reduction, and a lot of useful drug information. I assume it had to be the perfect scenario for what I was feeling at the time.

Pre-Trip:
It was about 10 P.M. and I was watching YouTube as I tend to do late at night. I have insomnia and had left over Benadryl that I used to take in attempt to put me to sleep. It never worked. I looked over at it and remembered watching videos of other people's trip reports on it with most of them being bad. For some odd reason, I'd never thought I'd have a bad trip since I'd planned to take a smaller dose than most people. I took the pills and swallowed them each one by one (25mg each) until I had reached 200 mg (recommended dose for beginners). I had read that the onset for this could be from 20 to 120 minutes so I wasn't counting down every second waiting for this to take affect.

The Trip:
About 40 minutes later, I began to have slight visual distortions, but nothing mentally. The slight movement and shake of objects. I thought that was fine but was waiting for it to really kick in. Not long after, I started feeling an overwhelming tingle throughout my entire body. It was cool at first, but then gradually got more and more intense. Too much to deal with. I tried to think of something else so that I could focus my attention away from the feeling until it got better, but it didn't work. The feelings was simply too much so I tried to go to sleep. It was hard to even get close to falling asleep and I ended up getting up multiple times and going to the bathroom in fear that I might vomit. Thankfully, that didn't happen. After about 3 hours, I somehow managed to get a couple hours of sleep.

Post-Trip:
When I woke up a couple hours later, I noticed I was still seeing everything swaying back and forth a little bit. The whole day, I was VERY clumsy. Almost falling over at times. Something that REALLY bothered me was whenever there was something that even remotely startled me. Every time that happened, I would get that intense tingling feeling again for a little as if I were about to die or something. So every little thing scared the shit out of me. I remember reading about short-term memory loss being common the day after, but I personally didn't experience it.

It has now been 2 days since my trip and I don't seem to have any of the "side affects" associated with the "hangover" stage. Again, I don't encourage anybody to try this. I wrote this to maybe inform people who are curious about it as to what might happen. Feel free to leave comments and tell me how much of a dumb ass I am as well as having a conversation about anything related to this. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Sort:  

unusual type of bad trip

It is. I honestly couldn't decide if I should call it a "bad trip" or not

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72