You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Drugs, Suicide, and Extreme Sports (Mainly Drugs)

in #drugs8 years ago

Great post Kevin. Part of me agrees with you but part doesnt. I believe in personal freedoms but thats when a government doesnt bail you out like it does in some countries. For example in places that have universal healthcare and legalizing drugs, people who fuck up their lives will be paid for by the taxpayers. Maybe im just ignorant who knows. Great post though.

Sort:  

The war on drugs cost the society a tremendous amount of money already. I live in a country with free healthcare, and the taxpayers already pay for those that are less fortunate or in any way (legal or illegal, self inflicted or not) fuck up their life. If drugs were sold and manufactured by the guvernement, the income would be used to treat those that can not manage their drug use, so the taxpayers wouldn't have to pay for anything more than they already do.

I also think people that fuck up their life should be helped, and I'm very glad I live in a country that actually does that. It doesn't matter if it's self inflicted or not, you get help no matter what's the cause. No one seems to bat an eye if a person that has been smoking for 40 years get lung cancer, and gets treatment covered by the guvernement. But no one wants to support people that are addicted to drugs...

Great article @kevinwong , upvoted and followed you :) I've been using drugs for several years now, 4-8 times a year, and I'm not addicted. I choose to use drugs that have a low risk profile and that aren't addicting. I don't use alcohol, I don't like it, and I think the risks are too high. I'm a huge believer in personal freedom and the right to decide over your own life.

Thanks buddy! I agree - governments tend not to inspect the root causes of problems, and instead become so battle-ready when it comes to criminalising people and jailing them up for what they've done..

That's a legit concern, totally becomes a problem when it interferes with public life..

Yes it's actually very ignorant. "Bailing" out private persons as a part of harm-reduction saves extreme amounts of money, you can read up on it as it's the system in place in Switzerland. They even give out free drugs to addicts to re-integrate them in the workforce via social-workers. By your argumentation the genetically frail and fat people also shouldn't be bailed out, but both deserve a chance ( I at least hope we can agree here ).
And if they deserve a chance so do drug-addicts.

Bailing out ( weak ) private persons is fine, bailing out corporations is not. Bailing out corporations is not capitalism, but bailing out private persons is very much what Hayek advocated for and unlike Keynes or Friedmann he wanted real competetive capitalism, that punishes you for malinvestments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28