Buying Legal Weed in Oregon

in #drugs7 years ago

If you don't happen to live in one of the states where weed is legal, perhaps you've wondered what the process of buying it from a legal vendor is like. It varies enough that popular depictions of it, seen in South Park for example, aren't quite accurate.

For example, here in Oregon you need this big dumb envelope to transport your newly bought weed in. The idea being to prevent your kid from getting into it while you're driving, I guess. Who takes their kid to the weed store though?

Inside there's a nice variety of different strains in little jars for smelling. Irrelevant to me as I never smoke, got to keep my lungs in good condition for diving. Still, A+ for presentation, and the layout feels less "medical" than some I've been in.

Plenty of knicknacks to buy, as well as a selection of different perishable edibles. Much of it liquid, something I've not tried yet. THC will bond to fat molecules so I'm surprised we've not seen any weed infused dairy beverages yet.

Merch. Gotta have merch. Another way to suck the dollars out of our pockets, while they've got our attention. I am not a "weed guy" and don't see the need to advertise it on my clothing, but I see the business sense in offering this stuff.

I meant to bring a $20 bill, as they only accept cash. Normally I get it from the ATM of my own bank to avoid fees, but I forgot to stop at the bank on the way. As a consequence I got charged a $3 transfer fee. $3, to withdraw $20. That's on me, though.

Got a jar of THC sour watermelon gummies. Each one says on it to eat only half, but who eats half a gummy? One whole gummi is about the strength I like anyway. The flavor and consistency as a candy are also surprisingly good.

Whoops, gotta put it in the friggin envelope, to keep it away from the kids I'll probably never have. Thank goodness I remembered in time. Anyway, that's about the full extent of it. They did card me on the way in, then again at the register, but it's no more burdensome than being carded at a bar.

I'd say the only part of it I don't like is that they only accept cash payment. Everything else is quick, logical and works fine. I'm in, I'm out, I'm blasted out of my mind. I imagine they must do that deliberately, to make some extra cash off their in-store ATM. I'm only mad I didn't think of it first.

That's all for this time, keep your eyes peeled for new content!


...and Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82