You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Nostalgia"

I'm sorry it's taken me an age to pop over and read your story of nostalgia. I needed the time to sit and give it the attention it deserves. I learnt a lot more about you in this post, @youhavewings, not just your love of words, of writing, of teaching, but more about you and your history.

Your granddad sounds like the Odysseus of his time, "long estranged from [Cypress], longing for his “day of return”—or nostimon emar." The image of him diving into the sea and swimming toward the boat showing what an adventurer he was.

The young man before he was your granddad and his ability to share his story with you. All of it so beautiful.

But that part of you was not the all of what you revealed. Your love of history. Your empathy and fascination of mankind. Bit by bit you are sharing and showing and a whole picture is being revealed.

I hope I can do the same when it comes to writing my post.

Sort:  

Hi @juliamulcahy

My grandpa was an amazing human being - a mentor, wise soul and legend to so many. He was just one of those bigger than life kind of people. It's no wonder my earliest memories are with him. I mean, I can describe right down to the detail some memories. I enjoyed hearing everyone elses stories in the family, too.

I'm sure your post will be fabulous, @juliamulcahy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59