Goals: Day 1 Drop in the Ocean

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

For about 6 weeks now...


I've been talking about major and minor goals that I want to set and achieve by the end of this year.  Do you know who suggested  GOALS as this week's topic?   


Me.


My deadline to compile these goals was yesterday and today I already began the journey towards achieving them. So why is it so difficult to write this post right now?  Why did I wait all day long to even begin this post? Why am I even now as I write these words - thinking.... "Hmmmm perhaps I'll make a little snack and then come back to this."  and "Oh, did the dryer go off?  Maybe I should fold that laundry first."


Well, I suppose the easy answer is : You're a human being, Dreemie.



The follow-up, which would also be accurate, is: You're a procrastinating human being, Dreemie. Not to mention the fact that I tend to be a little hard on myself. The phrase that has been circling the drain of my mind all day is, "You've been weighed in the balance and found wanting."   


Jiminy Crickets! I read the words that I'm writing and want to shake myself and say, "Give the poor girl a break already!" But - it's unlikely that I will, and I'm sure many of you can relate to that very same mindset. 


So Goals!  Let's get to it then. Enough procrastinating!


With me, goals can be a very delicate juggling act, as you can imagine from the words above.  Something that starts off as a nice little target with proper motivation can quickly become a guilt-inducing dictator demanding my blood, sweat, and tears.  This is all self-inflicted from a brain that expects 100% success, 100% of the time.  It also doesn't help that I tend to be an extreme person that generalizes the benefits of the normal and applies them to the excessive.  (Does anyone remember my post "If 2 vitamins are good, 20 are great - right?")   Yeah.  That's a bad thing.  I may or may not know that from experience.


Today was my first day working towards my goals.  It was Day 1. It felt so great to start, and yet - I feel like I didn't do enough. I know it's a journey, and that I have the next 4 months to grow as a person and apply these daily successes for a healthy, cumulative effect. I know that in theory.  I just need to trust each day - that I'm doing my best, that I AM growing, that I need to give myself grace, and that I will reach the end.  And "the end" is just the beginning of the next phase.


Deep breath.

Balance source, edited by @dreemsteem
Sort:  

Ya know Dreem, this seems to be a season for people being really hard on themselves. I'm seeing it everywhere I turn. I think goal setting is a great idea, as it does give you the chance to measure against that list and see how much you're putting in in terms of "steps towards" the different areas.

When I set goals, one thing I'm a bit bad at is being very absolute. As in, life changes us day by day, and during those months, those goals might need amending because of what we're learning. I need to learn that it is okay to do this- as long as it's because of a process and not down to fear.

I like what Blue said above. It's all part of flow, not concrete.
Do me a favour, when you read this, go look in a mirror, and tell yourself, out loud, how proud you are of yourself for something.

Love you Dreemie,
E x

I will be proud of choking down my supplements and water today LOLOLOLOL and wait til you see where i'm joining DITO from today! hehehehe

you know my mind.. you know my struggles. i will keep pushing forward without stressing! ill try!!!

I love you right back E <3

Life, for us, is ongoing.
There are no concrete steps, only a flow.
One moment morphs into the next. Not a discreet step here, only a process.

AND today, was a day in the process of learning, growing and getting better.
YOU are awesome Miss Dreemsteem!

aw, Goose!

Thanks for always talking me off the ledge! LOL (is that an everyday occurrence for you now??? sorry!)
so we keep moving forward. one day at a time. i'll recognize the progress of the day.

i think you're pretty awesome too, Goose! :)

You got it, Gander!

I have absolutely no reason to believe that you won't accomplish the goals you set for yourself.

And I totally agree with @bluefinstudios as well...it is a process and you will find your groove. You shouldn't be so hard on yourself Dreemie, take a step back and look at what you've accomplished in a short time. You set goals and you reached them... and you will continue that pattern just because that's who you are. Sure, you procrastinate but you've always managed to achieve your goals and this will be no different.

I love you Dreemie 🖤🖤🖤 #am3gas

I love you Monchie!!!!!!!!

I just hate that feeling! but i know that tomorrow will be better. I just need to keep plugging away and breathing deeply :)

missing the #am3gas. that's probably the reason I'm lacking focus!!!!! hahahahahaa cuz we haven't had our CHAT TIME!!!! :)

let's blame Andy ;)

I hear ya Dreamy. I might have missed something but-- Did you set some clear goals or did you loose focus of that!? Haha, i am looking for an accountability buddy to help improve too. Perhaps we can buddy up and encourage a winning spirit together!

I DO have specific goals - wrote them up and sent them off to Mr. @bluefinstudios ^^^ up there. hehehehe We agreed to hold one another accountable - and I think I'm going to be writing a post every week tracking how I did!

Would you be interested in something like that? We could maybe use a tag #accountablebuddy ???? and keep up with one another! comment and encourage? hehehehe I don't know if @bluefinstudios was planning on tracking anything on Steemit - but for me... when its "out there" - it helps to keep me pushing forward - you know?

what do you think! hehehehe

(i didn't list my goals here just because I didn't think it would be interesting for anyone! funny that you asked hehehehee)

Oohh... @dreemsteem, @yogajill - I'd be up for joining you on a weekly post with the tag too if you decide to do it... but I guess that means we'd need to put the goals out there (or at least share them with each other somewhere?) I get scared that I just potter away and don't move forward. This could be brilliant!! E x

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh i'm getting excited!

teamwork makes the dreamwork! hehehe

or dreem work.

either or ;)

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I put everything through the lens of software development, given that is something I've studied both academically and professionally. I'm no scholar, but in terms of practical advice, I do have some insight.

One of the most important things for success is defining things as individual, achievable tasks. Exercise more? Ok, but how much do you actually consider success? Once a week? Once a month? How long must each session be? The list goes on.

If you get real specific so you have clearly defined goals, you will know where you stand. And failing is okay; sometimes that means trying harder, and other times it means you need to make your goals more realistic until you can reach those loftier ones. But if you feel bad because you missed a mark that was nebulous to begin with, you are never going to feel good; you will constantly be pursuing that utopian vision of "perfect" without knowing what it actually is.

oh yes - i have my goals written out hehehehehe

I just didn't post them on Steemit yet - i didn't want to bore everyone!

but now, it looks like others want to be part of this little accountability group - so - we'll probably start posting our goals this week! :)

thanks @rhethypo!!!! (didn't get the book yet - it's probably on its way up my mountain ehehehe)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eveningart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

thank you so much @eveningart!!!!! :) if mine is a Dreemie.... is yours an Evie???? hehehehe

Evie sounds like santa's cutie helper.. sooo adorable! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Evie sounds like santa's cutie helper.. sooo adorable! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't believe you put together this post on the fly! You're such a clear writer and so organized.

I have that dialogue, too. But somehow it all gets done (well, most of it) and it is about learning and growing. I think it also depends on what is going on in life at the time - as moms, it's easy to overstretch ourselves.

I would have to agree with @bluefinstudios. You are awesome for sure.

Totally - overstretching is my baseline LOLOL

I think this little exercise will be good for my mind and body and soul! I actually LIMITED what I would normally list as my goals. I'm tryng to NOT go crazy this time :)

and thanks - i think you know by now - i think you're pretty awesome too hehehehe

"You've been weighed in the balance and found wanting."

the moment I read that it was my goal to be the first to share the best movie ever and one of the best scenes.



This is THE best scene ever

One of the all time best!

If two vitamins are good 20 are great ... :) oh yeahh, got you. A moment ago I was writing about gifts and surprises in life. I had to meditate about the difference yesterday, if there is any, well I have a slight idea ...

So ... I think setting goals is a perfect motivation for me to set my awareness towards the goal and keep moving. I think we are quite similar structured when it comes to goals and the questioning of oneself.

On really nasty days - there have been just a few ... puhhh ...- I like to call surprises, distractions ... they sometimes distract me from reaching for my goal ... giving 150% percent ... but are surprises sometimes really distractions? ....

WAIT ... I forgot to collect the fresh laundry from the roof top ... oh no ...it'ss raining ....

... back ... @dreemsteem, I know so much what you mean ... <3
xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83