Creativity - A Drop in the Ocean post

in #dropintheocean6 years ago

Creativity is a blessing and a curse.

On any given day, I can have 17 projects spinning around in my head, three more being conceived, two in the process of labor, and 8 dying.

It's an exciting, energizing feeling. On the other hand, it's a draining, crippling, disabling feeling.

As I'm writing this, I'm realizing that this will be more about the way I handle my creativity rather than an exposé on creativity itself - which is fine. That's the beauty of multiple people writing on a singular theme each week. As my friend @breezin said to me today, "Variety is the spice of life."

But what happens when it gets too spicy, and there isn't a drop of water around for miles and miles to quench the heat singeing your tastebuds, one by one. Well, to put it mildly, I suffer. Then I wait for the burn to subside. And then, inexplicably, I grab every spice jar on the rack, take off the shaker top and dump it all back onto my plate again.

I've tried to analyze this. Tried to consider why it is that I do what I do. I've given myself space, breaks, rests, distance, sleep, seclusion, extreme seclusion... and no matter how many times I've tried to find balance - I end up running to the spice rack again.

I'm not the only one who suffers. Sadly, my friends do too.

Thankfully this tongue-on-fire stage only lasts for a few weeks out of the year. And, then, blissfully, wonderfully, gratefully, I get months and months of "me" again. The creativity, without the pain.

Breathing helps. It's silly, but it helps. For all you creatives out there who love/hate your nature, I understand. I get it. I empathize. And I'll give you a hug just as soon as someone extinguishes my flaming mouth.

Image Source Spicy Mouth
Sort:  

You know I feel what you're going through in this post. I can't say that I will ever know what it's like to be you with all of these things juggling and with the way your brain works, and as alike as we are, our brains and experiences still are different... but I totally get it... the whirlwind in my brain is a bit different and I don't have 10,000 projects going on like you do... but can still understand the struggles you face Dreemie. You handle that shit like a champ though .. love you my friend!!

Thank you @monchhichi23... it helps when i get to laugh and vent with my girls (oh... and our hinny @calumam too!) hehehehehe

HINNIES FOREVER!!! lolololol

Congratulations @dreemsteem, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 60

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. Breathing helps... I am sure it does as the alternative would be bad and your too awesome to lose. Thanks for reading my mind @insideoutlet

Thanks @asapers and @insideoutlet!!!! Love you guys!!!
Breathing!!!! The most underrated tool in our tool box!!!

Oh, I hope you find the fire-extinguisher soon so you can enjoy your wonderful creativity more again. I was worried about you last week when you were supporting me for @welcomewagon as it seemed that you never slept and were writing, creating, supporting almost 24/7. Every time I opened my laptop, you were right there. You are doing a phenomenal job and it's so hard to keep that balance but I hope it comes back soon. Much love

So much love to you friend! And soon!!! soon it will all come back to balance :)

then.... gimme those spices! hehehehe <3
Hugs (and thank you for caring for me!!!)

Just keep yourself healthy, the newbies need you, hehe!

yes mam!!!! i ate a big salad today!!!! hehehehe

'Be careful with creativity'

I think you and me are both in the boat of singed mouths and over exuberating our creative aspects. But hey, I wouldn't have it any other way.

Yin-yang.

Better the devil you know.

LOLOLOL i really wouldn't either. Tongues heal ;)
...eventually

Bwahahaha, only 17? Just kidding, it's just too recognizable :D Lovely post! xxx

hahahahaha! I'm glad you enjoyed it , my friend!!! :) <3 this is life inside my brain!

Nice post @dreemsteem, keep up the good work :D

heyyyyyyyyy!!!!! you visited me!!!! :) hehehhehe Thank you @still-observer :)

I think I know that feeling, in my case idea come in the mid night and I end up getting late to sleep.

ahhhh it is after midnight now... I know the feeling also! :)

Deep sigh....

I resemble your remarks... ;)

Hang in there, sweetie!

😄😇😄

@creatr

i'm hanging.... i'm hanging!!!! :) by the way - check out the DM I just sent you in Discord :)

Lol.... Understand this too well. I've learnt to live with the voices. Hahaha.

Yes, breathing helps, and those breaks. You know what it is.....we love, we are passionate, and we care, and we have a zest for life - no half assing it .... ;)

I love your take on creativity, it isn't talked about enough

You understand completely :) deep sigh
♥️

Funny. But I think more joy than pain. Better to let the light burn too brightly than to have no light at all.

Keep a bottle of water nearby :)

😊
For 80% of the time, I would agree with you! I almost forget the pain ( like a mom immediately forgets the pain of labor after holding their newborn) ... But when that 20% hits....🔥😱🔥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58