Humility contest post

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

yinyang.png


Humility is one half of a yin and yang, its opposing and balancing force is pride. Either one of these personal attributes is weak without the other. A person who shows unending pride without humility is bound to be a person who gives no credit to those who have helped them succeed. A person with uncapped humility will never really see value in their own contributions. A balanced person realizes self worth and personal contribution (Pride) while at the same time realizing that they couldn't have succeeded truly alone (humility). Any accomplishment worth making has included a team effort, and any sane individual realizes that.

-Curt Ross

Sort:  

Very nice @curtross .. and so very true. I actually touch on this in my post as well.. finding that balance is very important in life.. thanks for sharing this with us.. nice to have you on board!

.....and any sane individual realizes that.

Going to end all my arguments debates with this from now on, valid or not. :)

Nice clean and to the point break down, I have had a bit of difficulty trying to explain the term humility, one of those words I can feel but not word well, something I do not even think about in terms but rather see as a picture.

They should really add this to the dictionary. :)

hahaha, i couldnt help but think of Donald trump's pride and ego when I wrote that. Talk about a person who is all pride with no humility. Edit: I also think he may be insane...so, fits the bill....

Nice job @curtross!!! :) This was short - but packed with truth!!!
No need to make it longer when it says it all :) I hope you can make it today for a few minutes - but if not.... maybe next time!

:)

much appreciated. I like brief posts a lot.

Great prospective @curtross Truth!!

You summed it up really well; humility and pride go hand-in-hand (and I detest when people oversell humility and bash pride. they're both equally good).

This is really cool @curtross.

Without team effort we are nothing actually

For me humility and wisdom go hand in hand... and all the greatest people I've met in life were all very down to earth and amazing human beings that didn't feel superior and even had encouragement and advice to share... I feel pride in my accomplishments and I feel pride when I think I do things right... like a self-reward...

A balanced person realizes self worth and personal contribution (Pride) while at the same time realizing that they couldn't have succeeded truly alone (humility).

This passage is just awesome!

Thanks a bunch. Glad it was well received! I think this topic can push into the discussion of privilege very easily too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33