Portrait of a Tree: An Oil Painting

partial.jpg
This tree is an outstanding feature of the Lal Bagh botanical garden in Bangalore, India. My dear friend and meditation master felt a strong identification with the tree and sent me to Bangalore to draw it. I spent 3 days there, going to the garden and drawing the tree. Upon my return to Madras, I gave him the drawings and resolved to make an oil portrait of the tree.

Here is a photo of me sitting on the tree:
tree,ks.jpg

And a photograph of the tree I took while I was there:
photo.jpg

And the complete painting:
complete.jpg

We discussed what type of tree it was, but were unable to pin it down. In the park, the label read "Cotton Silk Tree", but others I spoke to had doubts about its genus. Perhaps someone can clarify this question.

The painting is currently in Bangalore.

Hope you enjoyed this post; resteems, comments, upvotes, all are welcome.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

Sort:  

Craaaazy amazing and gorgeous. How big is it? Is there a special meaning where the sky turns from dark to light? I’m so intrigued!

Thank you. It is a fairly large painting, about a meter wide if I remember correctly. The change in tone on the right has more to do with composition than anything symbolic.

wonderful! You have a natural gift for color as a visual language of happiness!

Thank you; so glad you like it.

Greetings @kathleenscarboro.

What a lovely painting.......the dappled light, immensity and graceful lines are certainly elements that would attract an artist. Which you have managed beautifully to communicate and expand upon.....giving the tree a setting and meaning.....so that the more one has a frame of reference and capacity for the subject matter the more one brings away from this work of art.

All the best.

Cheers!

Thank you@bentleycapital; this tree has an amazing presence and personality. It was a joy to paint.

this is a great painting, Kathleen! If you didn't describe it as a painting, I would have thought it was a Deep Dream creation (coincidentally, since I just played in that app today).
upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1039215456975036416

Hmmm. I remember when I discovered Photoshop, I thought it had been invented just for me. Maybe I am part robot?

beep boop beep beep boop!
001010100100010001000101

WOW! Kathleen this is sublime. I love all those colours you put into the three, it speaks of robustness, of variety, of life itself.      
                         
Amazing work, I feel you outdid yourself here.      
                         

Thank you kindly@scrawly. It was a labor of love.

What a sweet painting, @kathleen! You've captured it beautifully. It almost seems like he has a soul. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, glad you like it!

The paint colours so beautiful. I really enjoyed to look at your tree

Posted using Partiko Android

You well come . I already flow you because I checked your post all is great and your eyes posting nice art .Thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

What a gorgeous painting of a wonderful tree! I love it!

The tree is absolutely majestic; takes your breath away when you are standing in front of it in the botanical garden.

Wow, that's a lot of details on that tree.

And there was a lot I could not put in! So many many details.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95