You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "In Her Element" - an oil painting

in #dropahead6 years ago

I admit having spent an inordinate amount of time on this one; it is a small format.

Admitting that already speaks a lot about what kind of artists you are. And I can tell you are passionate about your work and keen on the details. Some artists are a bit shy about the amount of time they spent working on a piece. I think it has something to do with a stereotype that experts do basic things so fast and novices take up a lot of time.

There's that thought prevalent from where I come from anyway. I don't know if there are other versions of how that thought is expressed in other countries. This work was work the countless hours you spent.

Coloring was never my strength so I can appreciate artists that do gorgeous work with colors. :D

Sort:  

Thank you kindly, @adamada, for your thoughtful comment. Color is interesting on its own - I myself was weak at it years ago before buying a book by Johannes Itten and doing some of the color exercises. It was enlightening. I also keep a color file of paintings that interest me only for their color harmony and use them for inspiration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34