Drone F1 – Flying High, Flying Fast (featuring new @sanjayramjee as author)

in #drones8 years ago

So, my six year old son sees this helicopter in a shop window and say’s, hey dad can I get one of those.

So like any other dad, who sees the opportunity to buy a new toy, I say, why sure son that sounds like a great idea . You can guess who spent more time flying this little chopper around the house….

Anyway, so I decide to check out what else is available online and come across the following – Drone Racing. I read up some more and find out that Drone racing is actually quite a big thing.

I so would really love to see this first hand myself. There is also a Red Bull Drone Racing Team.
I then read about the Drone F1 that was recently hosted in Dubai.

For your viewing pleasure a quick overview of this event.

The track

The racers

The Champ

The loot

$ 250 000

Now Check out the race!!!

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. STEEM Dollars for this post go to the author

Sort:  

Cool video! View this my video

@alex2016, awesome drone vid. Excellent HD quality too.

@yorg, wow, what an experience. Feels like being on a rollercoaster, just without your heart in your mouth. lol

I had no idea there were drone races and that some of the drones were so ...agile to pull such maneuvers. Good stuff.

Yeah its crazy ive never seen that track!

You can build the drones on your own. It might be a good project for you guys.

Iv'e used this store before : http://www.getfpv.com

Check out this one :

Cheers

@the dailyhobbyist, that video was truly awesome. Have you had a look at Microsoft's Hololens? There might be a cool application for drone racing with that as well.

Hey @thedailyhobbyist, thanks for that info. Will definitely check it out. Im sure my son would love something like that. Now I just need the space and the moola to make it happen

Dubai is place for dreams I went there year ago trust me it's the best city in the world at the moment.

I was there too, but a few years ago. Those guys have a vision second to none. Really enjoyed my stay there

This sport is going to continue to grow. The military I'm sure is looking at it as a possible recruiting opportunity too.

@feedthemachine, I agree with both your comments. Why will the military overlook an opportunity like this? Im sure they already have recruitment plans.

[Mistake - Edited]

@minion, thanks for that valuable advice. But I am definitely not editing this post.

Mistake, yet we still don't know for sure do edits affect payout.

That happened in front of where i lived at that time in Dubai.

Reminds me of a 3D version of BattleBots. Very Cool

Hey gavvet,

it's good to see you give your son these opportunities. Wish him best luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31