You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FAA Testing Drone Detection System

in #drones7 years ago

As a voluntaryist, this is a tough one for me. I fly drones and have done the Part 107. The learning required to pass the test is interesting, but hardly necessary for any practical purpose. Of course the test only applies to pros, and therefore just doesn't even make sense to me. But I digress. Total tangent.

The job of providing separation that the FAA does and seems to actually do well, is an important one. I struggle with how to get this specific issue resolved voluntarily.

Sort:  

it's a bit tricky when it comes to ownership of the air space lol

It really is. When I fly, I am very concerned about privacy. I wouldn't love a drone buzzing my house, yet my drone can pick out the nose hairs in all of the neighborhood. The line is pretty gray. It comes down to tact and just luck in not pissing someone off.

As for separation, I actually think it's pretty easy to stay away from other aircraft. I fly in congested airspace fairly regularly, and I just don't see the issue. Well, if one is paying attention, that is.

before the drones it was chaos over the laser pointers lol

lol. Yup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57558.50
ETH 2437.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35