Droning on

in #drone6 years ago

I got into RC flight about 2 years ago from watching the youtube channel - Flite Test, and after watching some of the aerobatic videos from VEK FPV I was instantly hooked on the idea of getting some FPV goggles and learning to fly like that! 

My 1st quadcopter was an Eachine H8 mini which costs around $12 (US) it's nippy and nimble and is probably the most versatile toy grade quad available, it can be upgraded with larger brushed motors and propellers (requires a new chassis), and even brushless motors. It has enough thrust to carry a micro camera and transmitter to provide FPV (First Person View), but most importantly it can be flashed with alternative flight controller firmware. Developed by RCGroups user Silverxxx, the firmware can deactivate the auto-leveling function to make it fly in 'Acro' mode.

What is Acro?

Good question, but 1st I must explain Auto level. When you fly in auto level mode if you push the pitch or roll stick to the maximum the craft will rotate along the corresponding axis until it reaches a stopping point. When you slowly release the stick, the craft will follow that movement, return to level when the stick reaches the center. 

In short - the further you push the stick the further the craft will rotate.

In Acro mode, however, when you push the stick slightly, craft will rotate slowly, as you return the stick to center the rotation will slow and stop and the craft will maintain its angle, until you move the stick in the opposite direction to level out.

In short - The further you push the stick the faster the craft rotates along the corresponding axis with no stopping point. 

This is much easier to explain than to do. Learning to fly in Acro mode is hard, it may only take a few days I have been at it for a while and I am still improving slowly. Flying with a simulator can really help in this regard.

I live in South Africa so it takes ages for international deliveries to arrive here, which has been hampering my experience curve, but I research information on a daily basis and have gathered enough information to write reviews for products, I am also lucky enough to, on occasion, receive complimentary products to review as well. My fleet of craft is now up to 5 different quads, that are all currently grounded!

I am awaiting the delivery of batteries and a charger that will allow me to get my most recent addition (the Furibee X140 3") in the air, so when they arrive you can expect a review...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16