You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📷 Some shots from yesterday's drone-hiking ✈

in #drone7 years ago

Drones look like so much fun! Your pictures really make me want to jump in and try it out for myself. I imagine that the drones are pretty expensive, though. Is it easy to control?

Sort:  

@manouche, there are drone flying simulators on PC and you can plug your remote control through USB. So you can train to fly properly before taking the risk to break your several-thousand-euros toy.

That definitely sounds like the best place to start. I'm going to look into it. Thanks for the reccommendation, @haedre! Do you speak from experience?

I do not have any drone myself but I tried the simulator at a friend's place.

This one is a self-built racing drone with fully manual control so you need to know what you are doing before you fly it. Drones like the DJI Mavic Airare easy to operate and great to take aerial photos and videos.

Oh whoa. How incredibly cool that it is self-built. At first instance, I was thinking I should try my hand at it but then I know I'll possibly just fail miserably! Thanks for the recommendation. I'm going to look into it and see if it's something I can indulge in.

You'll find tons of video tutorials on how to build, tune and fly these drones! All you need is a certain amount of obsession! :-)

Haha, I actually started looking into the tutorials. Thinking of maybe trying it out as a summer project with an engineer friend ( just to be on the safe side)!

Start with a simulator like Liftoff. It's not the same like a real miniquad but this particular one feels quite realistic, so you'll see whether this is for your or not. Of course it only makes sense if you use it with a regular rc-transmitter and not with a mouse!

This looks amazing, @gric. Seems like the perfect place to start. Also looks like a super fun game regardless. I have a friend who said he has an rc transmitter so we're planning on checking it out in the coming weeks. Thanks for all the suggestions and if you have any more for absolute novices, they're more than welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54