Ghost Ship in Thailand - Exploring with a Drone

in #drone6 years ago

Getting the drone out to explore something unique is always fun, challenging and scary.

Travelling through Thailand we came across an abandoned cruise ship that was within flying distance for the drone.

The ship sits on a mud bank at the bottom of a river just across from Koh Phra Thong on the west coast of Thailand.

It appears to be an old cruise ship that looks to have been there for 10 - 15 years. We haven't been able to get much information on it, but it could be from a shipping company that has gone bust. The site is also the area badly damaged in the 2006 Tsunami, but we don't believe the ship is from that due to the way it was abandoned.

Filming it was great fun. It was around 500m away from where I was positioned so all filming was done on the camera, not through line of sight. This meant that I had to plan and execute the shots from a distance.

It was very hot, mid day Thailand being around 35 degrees Celsius. Luckily I had the car, so I was able to sit in the car with the AC on for some of the challenging shots.

If I had more time and battery I would have completed a few fly overs with the fishermen busy in the background. But I am extremely happy with the footage that I was able to capture.

The music was sourced from CCMixter, composed by Zep Hurme, it is available here.

I hope you enjoyed the drone video and taste of travelling in Thailand. Remember to up vote if you appreciate the content.

Sort:  

Wow, I wish I had one of those!

Cool stuff like this is what makes me want to invest in a good drone. Nice footage.

they are fun to play around with. I don't get to use it as much as I like, but you should investigate getting one more! DJI Mavic is great.

Is that what you're using here? Just read up on them and they seem to be the way to go as far as quality goes.

Yea, thats what this is filmed on. They are well loved in the community. To be the
'apple' of the drone world!

Man, I would love to fly a fast drone through the bones of that ship.

Haha, I'm not sure I'd take it through the ship!

nice title you have given to abandon ship "ghost ship".You are carrying drone everywhere I think @jmcmeekin .Good discovery in Thailand.thanks to share with us.

Epic video @jmcmeekin, a big thumbs ups for your work...

Epic footage @jmcmeekin, never seen anything this in my life.

I think is very nice place and both but good

Congratulations on the beautiful impressive video. Let's be friends and interact.

Nice shot,cool sound .you just made d ghost ship come back alive,wish i was there with you.nice one dear

Nice shots dude! It's fun flying a drone around especially when you travel and come across different things to film like that ghost ship (in my mind it's a ghost ship) :)

I'm currently touring around Europe, uploaded my Italy video to DTube: Italian Sky - Italy By DJI Phantom Drone

Keep on dronin'! ↳ Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71