DJI Phantom 3 Pro/Adv latest firmware update

in #drone7 years ago (edited)

Hello there... First of all, I would like to send greetings to all of you on Steemit since this is my fist post... I am a tech guy who loves technology as expected, I love Photography and video, graphic and web design, music, DJ-ing and after all I love creativity in every single way... Today I had one bad experience with my DJI Phantom 3 Pro drone, so I decided to share with all of you guys, maybe it will help someone to avoid bad day like I am having today... I am doing a lot of video recording and editing, I will be posting here now that I signed up, but first to share these hard moments.... I recently noticed that my DJI GO app offers me new updates for my RC (Remote Controller)... I ignored it two days ago because I was in a middle of flight, but today I decided to do the update to remove that annoying message on the top of the screen... Usually updates should make things better than they are, but this time turned out to be totally opposite. After I did all updates (my RC, by DJI GO app and my aircraft), I ended up with a dead aircraft... Not literally dead, but it is not flying any more... After reading an update log file, I found that all of the updates ran just fine with final result marked as SUCCESS, but despite that successful updates, my aircraft gives me an error... Since I never had hard landing or a crash, I don't believe that the problem is hardware related, because It was flying day before. Now after I turn it on, it heats up to normal operating temperature and after it gets ready to fly, I push the throttle up to lift of, and I get ESC STATUS ERROR and no motors will spin... Tried to reinstall updates, but no luck... I contacted DJI online chat support, and they say that it is hardware issue, not the software... They suggest to send my drone to them to fix it, and of course they will charge me for that ( I found the price of the ESC, it is pretty pricey, around 300 USD) or wait for a new update and check if the problem is gone... So guys, all of you who own Phantom 3 Pro or Adv model, ignore the update and as soon as you see that new update is available, start checking and reading for DJI forum posts if there are problems regarding to the latest firmware version, because a lot of problems happened before with some of previous versions. Never go and get tha latest firmware until you are 100% sure that it's completely OK... Or you can if you want to end up with a faulty drone and headache that I am having right now... I hope this first post will be at least helpful to someone, or just interesting to read... If I come up with some solution I will update the post... Kind regards!!!
!])

Sort:  

Congratulations @cvijanovic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Absolutely agree! I never update to the latest firmware. I had to learn this lesson too!

Congratulations @cvijanovic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cvijanovic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42