Las Vegas - Red Rock Canyon - a short aerial montage (filmed with a DJI Mavic Pro drone and edited on an iPad)

in #drone7 years ago

Visited Vegas last week and this is an excellent location to fly your drone. This short montage uses many of the advanced features on the Mavic drone, as follow me on a car, Point of interest view, reveal shorts etc. I like to make my movies a bit personal, so it does include some shots of myself and my (unfortunately nice rental Ford Mustang as well.

(dont forget to switch the playout to 1080p for the best views)

This montage was made entirely with just the Mavic and an iPad 2 air. Some tips:

  • I always film from take off to landing, and create long clips.
  • I always make my shots at least 8 seconds long, even when I think I screwed it up :) It might always turn out to be usable in post
  • auto track in a car works quite well, just ensure that you keep the drone low enough so you get a skyline view as well and not just a full ground shot
  • When going over speeds of 30 miles an hour. Tracking by GPS works best as the drone recovers quite well when you go out of range.
  • Remember you cannot fly inside state parks, but often around the edges the scenery is just as nice. In Las Vegas Red Rock Canyon I recommend to fly in Bonnie Springs and Calico.

Any feedback on the flight, captures, edit: positive or negative are very much appreciated. I am still learning this and look forward to any constructive criticims.

I have some further footage lined up from a number of visit to the Clark County Shooting range and Sporting clays, Including some nice drone, but also slowmo shots of a number of differentguns being fired :) Also I am almost done with a video on the Vegas strip. Will post these soon if this post is appreciated :)

This is my first Steem post. I find it an exciting platform. I hope it delivers on this enthousiasm and we have great interaction here :)

Oscar

Sort:  

amazing work love it bro

Thank you for the compliment... I am working on some more vids from that trip, which are hanging in post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52