Road Rage

in #driving6 years ago

Received this picture in my email from a friend. It was titled Road Rage.

I looked it up in Google and sure enough this picture is one of 6 taken at Pilanesberg game reserve in South Africa. The elephant eventually turned over the vehicle and pushed it out of the road. Check the link Here

I thought I'd share this with you my friends because almost everyday, out there in the streets, road rage is so common. We hear and read about it and see pictures and videos of people, in all walks of life, from bus, taxi and jeepney drivers to professionals in business suits, all turning into unrecognizable monsters shouting, cursing, kicking, fighting and sometimes fatally shooting their transgressors. There seems to be a very short fuse when it comes to driving that easily and quickly lights up and explodes the moment a vehicle cuts in on another's lane.

I really think it is a matter of pride. As a driver, I often get annoyed to the point of uttering profanity when a vehicle cuts into my lane. I feel the other driver just disrespected me and insulted me. That's in the heat of the moment. But if I can just set aside pride and think instead like, "Maybe the other driver is late for an important meeting" or "Maybe he has an emergency to attend to" the boiling rage most often cools down.

My advice? Fellow drivers, before you enter your car to drive it to work, to the supermarket, to visit your folks or to anywhere, leave your pride at home. Hang it by the gate or the garage door. And while driving, have an air of humility and compassion and be considerate of others. This will definitely lead to a much safer drive. Who knows? The life you save may be your own.

Road Rage. It affects us all.

Sort:  

Looking at this picture makes me remember our crazy experience in the Safari of South Africa!! Elephant is super, super dangerous!!

Wow, that must have been an awesome experience. I have the impression that elephants are docile creatures. Aren't there trained elephants in circuses? He must have been provoked. I would have stayed a safe distance from them to make sure I won't disturb their morning walk. Thanks for visiting.

well, normally elephants are pretty well behaved, but then they are pissed, they are extremely dangerous!

Diri saudi sir kay hasul kaau mga ubang lahi diri., traffic kaau magcgeg pamusina, kaming pasahero mairita sa ilang style murag way unod ang ulo., hehehe

Pride fills the head with air until nothing else remains. Tama jud ka. Way unod kundi hangin. Antos na lang kay kita man ang makasabot dili sila.

Salamat sa bisita.

Very wise advise. We really should learn how to curb our anger in everything we do.

So very true. It takes practice and sometimes for some, it takes a lifetime of practice. Thanks for the visit.

Wow, that is Crazy!

You said it. Very very dangerous to agitate these supposed gentle giants. Should have kept a safe distance from it.

Thanks for taking the time out to check this post. Have a great week ahead.

Thank you sir, and please do the same.

So, my friend, we were just discussing pride and how destructive it could be. I bet you had a chuckle, knowing you had just wrote this.

This message goes much deeper than trains, plains and automobiles. This is a life message. Get pride out of your life and you are so much more likely have a life you are proud happy to have had the chance to live.

Personal note: Guessed wrong on the 5.

Fur'd.

I just thought I'd stay away from using it altogether. I know and believe in your advocacy. You've earned it. Can't say the same about the other.

Had indeed a good chuckle when I read your email. Just goes to show great minds think alike lol.

Thanks for the FUR.

Thank you. I'm hoping they do well, but it was not handled all that well. Perhaps they will be less political down the road and get a great team together and help ensure quality is king.

Yes, I bet you did have a chuckle. That was just too cool.

Very well said amigo nako hehe. Great advice leave your pride and in ani lang dapat mag drive o para cool palagi😍

Ha ha ha. Mawala jud imung kasuko ana brod. Asta tong imung kaengkwentro. Mahimo na lang mong mag-amigo. Great idea.

Salamat sa bisita @long888 (Long for Short) : )

I really Hope your car is not moving on this picture...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23