You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alcohol and Intelligence

in #drinking8 years ago

First of all, kudos to you for approaching 11 years dry! I'm 43 and 4 years dry, never looked back.

I can relate to your experiences with alcohol, especially around solving problems. For me once I'd stopped drinking I had to deal with one of the reasons I'd started - depression - I've always been a quiet, reserved person and generally kept myself to myself, feeling like I didn't quite fit in.

Alcohol helped me in social situations and gave me the confidence to communicate with others. Alcohol (I felt at the time) also helped me with my interests and made me a better at writing, coding etc

I could be wrong but I think the key here is confidence. You've still got the ability to multiply 234x567 but if you lack confidence you'll reach for the calculator to check or even get the answer wrong!

I didn't do anything formal to combat my depression and get my confidence back but I knew what I had to do. Eating well (most of the time, lol), exercising regularly (super important, endorphins are good), getting plenty of sleep and making time to keep doing the things you love.

Reading your comments has helped me today, as I hope mine have helped you :) I don't do this as often as I should as I'm still a quiet, reserved person but I'm comfortable with who I am now, I know myself and I'm generally happy.

It's always a battle, but that's what life is about :) It's knowing there are others out there fighting the fight that makes it easier!

Best Wishes
Marc

Sort:  

Yep, you're absolutely right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43