Dreemit's World: Happy Wine Trail Wednesday Steemit!

in #dreemitsworld7 years ago


dreemitsworldstandingstone.jpg




Well I am slowly working my way down the Seneca Lake Wine trail, and this next stop is at a winery that another one of my dear friends once worked at, providing lots of free tastings as well as excellent discounts.

Standing Stone once stood out to me because it was the only winery on the trail that offered free snacks, and I don't mean a bowl of oyster crackers, pretzels, or popcorn, no, I mean trays of homemade bread, gourmet crackers, and an array of different mustards and dips.

Alas it appears they no longer provide these yummy hors d'oeuvres...(well, they still have bread, but it's quite possible it's left over from the time my friend worked there- stale with the distinct flavor of mold-though I saw no mold which creates suspicion that they sliced off the bluish bits)

Actually, I noticed on the tastings menu that they offer bread and cheese for an additional five dollars, so I think it's possible they keep the fresh bread for the paying customers.

But enough about the snacks, or lack thereof, this is a winery and I should be talking about the wines. Now, as I've said in the past I have a bit of an immature palette when it comes to the alcoholic beverage made from grapes instead of barley, preferring the sweeter wines that most connoisseurs turn their noses up at. So it's generally difficult for me to discern whether or not a wine is good- and this is where my mom comes in.

My lovely Italian mama has been drinking wine since pre-school. Everyone just laughed at the exaggeration right?

Except it's not an exaggeration. Every Sunday my grandparents and their siblings would tote their children to Grandma and Grandpa Greco's for a Spaghetti and Meatball dinner, and red wine was served with it to every member of the family who could hold their own glass. Mom claims that contrary to the belief of many Americans that starting out young is a path to alcoholism, having a glass of wine with dinner teaches a respect for the beverage. She in fact regrets that she did not continue this tradition with her own family.

My parents attended a particular kind of church when we were little that had some silly ideas about alcohol being a sin. Somehow forgetting the part in the bible where Jesus turned water into wine after it ran out at a wedding celebration that had been going on for days. And actually her twin sister (my aunt)'s family also attended this church, so the tradition died out. Later in life they all (mom, dad, auntie and uncle) decided that while they loved their born-again churches they would agree to disagree about alcohol. No one can boogie on wine like the twins!

Getting back to my original point, my mom knows her wines, and according to her the Smokehouse Red and the Saperavi are two of the finest wines she's tried in a long time. For those of you who are aficionados like my mom, you might be interested in knowing that Standing Stone is one of only five wineries in the entire United States to grow and produce Saperavi. This grape originated in the Republic of Georgia, in Eastern Europe and they recently discovered that they have the largest acreage of Saperavi outside the Republic of Georgia.

And to really top off the greatness of the wines here, they have not one but two ice wines. Never heard of an Ice Wine? Just imagine the sweetest white grape juice you've ever tasted, and then add a cup of sugar to it. And my lovely mama bought me a bottle of the Vidal to take home, yum! (I say that until the inevitable headache that tends to follow alcohol that's high in sugar.)

And now for the photo journey--Enjoy!


IMG_0757-01.jpeg



IMG_0762-01.jpeg



IMG_0763-01.jpeg



IMG_0765-01.jpeg



IMG_0766-01.jpeg



IMG_0767-01.jpeg



IMG_0768-01.jpeg



IMG_0769-01.jpeg



IMG_0770-01.jpeg



IMG_0771-01.jpeg



IMG_0772.JPG



IMG_0776-01.jpeg



IMG_0777-01.jpeg



IMG_0779-01.jpeg



IMG_0780-01.jpeg



IMG_0782-01.jpeg



IMG_0783-01.jpeg



IMG_0784-01.jpeg



IMG_0786-02.jpeg



IMG_0787-01.jpeg



IMG_0790-01.jpeg



IMG_0791-01.jpeg



IMG_0794-01.jpeg



IMG_0802-01.jpeg



IMG_0798-01.jpeg



IMG_0805-01.jpeg



IMG_0808-01.jpeg



IMG_0809-01.jpeg




IMG_0812-01.jpeg



IMG_0817-01.jpeg



IMG_0818-01.jpeg





Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Hey @dreemit can I use that steemit GIF if I site you as the source every-time?

oh actually I see it shows your name on there, so maybe it would be better for me to just learn to make those lol

You responded to yourself here hahaha! I just noticed it when I opened up the post ;)

lol yeah, right after I clicked off your article my brain was like "wait did that gif say dreemit's name" haha and after going back and looking again... well darn it it did. Super cool GIF, really like it. Great pics in the article too, my wife loves going to Wine festives / vineyards

You mean the thing at the end? The actual source is @son-of-satire, and if you follow him, write some thoughtful comments on a couple posts and then ask him the way you just asked me I'm sure he'll make you one, he does it as gifts for his followers every so often :)

Hi @dreemit I've Published a post about you, check it out if you can, thanks.

32 Best Steemit Bloggers Of The Day To Follow 27th July 2017

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jzeek/32-best-steemit-blogger-of-the-day-to-follow-27th-july-2017

nice and great post :)

Thank you :)

It was pretty mind blowing for me to learn how on every Sunday, after a delightful meal of Spaghetti and Meatballs, your mum would be served red wine. Is this a tradition that is widely done in Italy or is it just in your mother's family?

Well at least you are able to experience the best of wines that your mother presents to you with her knowledge regarding wine.

Superb Photographs @dreemit, the Standing Stone seems like nice and homely winery where anyone could come round and have a taste of some great wine haha

Is there a story behind the name 'Standing Stone'? I thought there might be an archeological site around there or something like that-- those ancient monuments always get my attention. Maybe their standing stone fell over and they don't want to talk about it!

Actually, the man serving our tastings said it had something to do with a native American tribe, but because he wasn't specific and I couldn't find anything on it I decided not to put it in.

My favorite read on wednesdays!! (When you are nice enought to post about wine :/ haha).

The Ice wine one is new to me! I am looking forward to try it out, seems easy enough to make, now I gotta find the time and someone to drink it with! No no, stop it, I am not drinking it by myself, stop suggesting it @dreemit! Hahaha

Seriously, I am glad you posted this, I like the fact that this one offered snacks, real snacks. An important part of wine tasting is mixing its flavor with some food and being able to mix both sensations perfectly.

Read you aroung my dear friend, sending hugs from a distant place!

Awww Mama Dreemit :'D Is she 100% Italian? I could clearly see your future :D

You know, you could always restart the tradition with your children. I know they're teens now, but hey, it's never too late to get them drinking. Wine, that is.

That church thing oy vey I could totally relate. It's a shame when something stops a longstanding family tradition. In any case, you could always create one for your own.

Great pictures as always! Easiest "Find Dreemit" ever haha! Why is it always like storm clouds follow you when you go searching for wine?? haha!

She is mostly Italian, though I think there might be a little English mixed in. I think because her grandparents on her dad's side were straight off the boat and made a big deal of their heritage, so I only ever hear about the Italian side.

That's funny you mention that about the clouds, my mom said the exact same thing!

Actually we have re-started the tradition, my kids have been having wine at certain dinners since they were probably eleven or twelve.
We're supposed to be going to see my mom's family, her twin, my uncle, my cousins etc. in Vermont at the end of September. Really looking forward to that. first I'll be camping with my brother there, then heading to their houses. Lots of pictures will be taken :)

Maybe Mama Dreemit and I are the true kindred spirits! Haha! It's great to hear about the tradition, I just know that you'll put your own twist in there to make it more unique ;)

You have the very same smile, I love seeing that so much 😍
And thanks for the laughter! The part where you explained how your family decided to "reinterprete" the bible - or better said just skipping parts of it - was hilarious!!!
It's always good to see you having a good time.
Enjoy your weekend, sweetie

I feel the exact same way about your smile, your whole being is a bright smile!! I'm so happy you've brought that light back to steemit.

Have a busy weekend helping my parent's fix their driveway (but will be rewarded with really good pizza and beer haha!)

Enjoy yours as well love! Big O's and X's to you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69507.14
ETH 3707.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.37