The Dream still lives

in #dreamscometrue7 years ago

Firstly let me say thank you to @senorcoconut for this trip down memory lane.
Here is a link to the challenge...share your story too

Now for as long as i can remember i have always wanted to be a pilot. The dream started the first day i saw a plane fly over my house back when i was around 8 years old and from that moment on everything i did in school was geared towards becoming a pilot.
I remember the frightened look on my mother's face when i first told her what i wanted to be when i grew up.

Her only son and the first born of the family for that matter wanting to be a pilot....In her mind that was the riskiest Job in the world and she wasnt going to let her only son do that.

Ofcourse she did not do or say anything to stifle that dream. im sure she figured ill change my mind once i get older.
Getting into secondary school the first thing i did was to find out which subjects would enable me be a pilot i found that i had to be a science student so i did my very best in the science subjects "Especially Geography" because i was told it is compulsory for pilots
We went on an excursion to The Nigerian School of Aviation in Zaria and oh my God i was excited, The sight of planes and going so close to them i could already imagine myself

Good afternoon this is Your captain speaking, My name is Captain Joshua Olaniyi and this flight is headed for Paris (It was also my dream to visit paris), we will be taking off soon and the estimated time is 12 hours do enjoy your flight and please listen to the flight attendants as they give you the basic instructions Thank you

Yes i could see it. Me in my all white uniform....it was glorious
After graduating secondary it was time for me to pursue my dream, by this time my mom was already starting to try to talk me out of it. "Study medicine" she said but i would have none of it so she switched tactics and said okay i should do aeronautic engineering since it is still related to piloting and it was safer. Because i love my mother i finally budged and agreed to study aeronautics so i started research on the prerequisites.
I had all it took save for one thing. Money. The tuition fees for a Pilot was 7.5 million naira...i did not give up hope until i checked the alternative which was aeronautic engineering. Now it was way cheaper than been a pilot but i still could not afford it..... 2.4 million naira, my dreams never felt more unachieveable

I was heart broken and disappointed but since i had love for technology i decided to study ICT all the while secretl hoping that one day ill get the funds to follow my dream.

After my university The school of aviation started recruiting for different job positions, imaging my excitement as i immediately applied for the Job. Though i did not get it my mother decided she was going to try and sponsor me for aeronautic engineering at least seeing as i was still very much interested in been in aviation so we went to make inquiries but it turned out they had already closed application.

I felt bad but i have three other siblings and i realized that instead of spending that much money on me who had already gotten a degree they would be better off spending it on my younger ones that were coming up.
My dream to be a pilot is still very much alive and i hope to one day become one...who knows maybe steemit will sponsor it .......lol

Sort:  

Wow great story..
Omo pilot Olaniyi

May your dream come true..

It is so inspiring when young people figure out things like this to chase that dream:

the first thing i did was to find out which subjects would enable me be a pilot

You have been heart broken a couple of times, but it sounds like you have a great big heart. Nothing speaks stronger than sacrifice for those you love!

Keep that dream alive for sure @jo5h it will come to fruition!

Thank you

You're welcome

Dreams do come true bro, keep the hope alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57